My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Saturday June 4, 2005 June 4, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 2:27 pm

Things got started a little rocky today.  Seth woke up earlier than normal to eat this morning and I was just getting back to sleep when the alarms started going off saying it was time to get up.  I had decided that I would just stay home when Chip said he wasn’t taking her if I didn’t go.  Well, I dragged myself out of bed and got ready because Kait said she was definitely going to play.  Well, about 20 minutes before it was time to leave, she started whining about how she didn’t want to play and she was scared and didn’t know how to do it and… and… and…  This from my daughter who spent more than an hour every day this week practicing in the yard and with Gamma.  I looked at her and told her the only thing she needed to be scared of was her momma if she didn’t get herself ready to go and play that entire game.  Cuz this momma ain’t too happy when you make her get up early for nothing!  I looked at her and said, “There’s no crying in baseball!” which just cracked us all up!  (Y’all have seen that movie, right?)

My daughter, the one who adamantly has refused up until this point to get out there with her team, played her ENTIRE game!  And hit the ball farther than anyone else on either team!  I was one proud momma!  And we sure did lavish on the praise every chance we got!  Even Elijah was sure to tell her what a great job she did.

After Kait’s game, we dropped Noah off to play with a friend and then came home so I could eat some breakfast before we had to head back out for Elijah’s game.  Chip’s mom came by the house to drop some stuff off and then came on over to the game to watch Elijah.

Elijah did great at his game, but I’d expect nothing less.  He’s starting to get a pretty good swing going.  We’ve been working on it a lot.  He’s not a very fast runner so we’ve been concentrating on his swing. I told him that being a power hitter is the key to his success in baseball.  He really smacked that ball hard 3 out of the 4 times he was up to bat.

Now we’re home for the afternoon.  We’re getting the house cleaned up and the laundry done so we can pack our suitcases tonight and tomorrow night for our trip.  And I’m going to have to take a nap sometime this afternoon since tomorrows Sunday and that means I’ll be the one staying up half the night with the baby.  Chip’s gone to get a futon for the office – which will be nice because then people will have a place to sleep or nap when they come to stay with us.

2 days until we leave for vacation!  I can hardly wait!

 

Leave a Reply

