My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Tuesday June 14, 2005 June 14, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 1:29 pm

Thursday morning we didn’t get started out as early as we’d hoped.  Normally the kids are up and ready to go for the day by 8am and I really expected Seth to be up around 7 or so to eat.  Nope, we ALL slept until almost 9am!  Oops!  We had hoped to be leaving for the Cities by 9am, but that didn’t happen.

Gram made breakfast for us once again (there is no stopping that woman from making us something) – biscuits and sausage. Chip and I ate quickly and got things moving towards the van.  I was just about ready to go, only had to do my hair and feed Seth, when my mom & Jerry pulled up.  We visited with them for just a few minutes and finished getting the van loaded.  By 10:30, we were ready to go.  With a quick goodbye to Gram & Sandy and a promise to be back in October, our trip to Kenosha came to an end.

We took our time getting to Minneapolis.  Not necessarily because we wanted to, but because there is ALWAYS construction when you drive through Wisconsin.  And because if you have out of state plates it is not a wise decision to speed at all because you will get pulled over.  I really don’t understand how there can be soooo much construction in WI and their roads can still be that bad.  It boggles the mind.

We got the hotel and checked in about 6 and then headed down to Cannon Falls to see Kurt & Kari and their girls.  It was so nice to see them again.  It had been two years since the last time we saw them. We stayed at their house for quite a while talking about different things (the kids, ministry, etc…) and generally catching up.  I think I actually saw my husband roll his eyes when the first thing I asked Kari about was the PW board we belong to that had been down for a week before we left for vacation (and was still down when we got to MN).  There are certain people that we wished we lived closer to and Kurt & Kari are definitely on that list.

We got back to the hotel and got everyone situated and in their jammies.  Elijah slept on the air mattress on the floor and Kait & Noah slept on the other fullsize bed.  Or should I say they played and poked and kept each other up.  By midnight we were finally all asleep.

 

Leave a Reply

