My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Tuesday June 14, 2005 June 14, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 1:15 pm

Wednesday morning, Chip got up with the kids and let me loll a few extra minutes in bed.  But it wasn’t long before breakfast smells got me on my feet and moving.  Chip stopped Gram before she could cook us a big meal, but not before she made bacon.  We told her that we’d be happy to eat frozen waffles – which we did.

After breakfast, Gram took Kait and I shopping.  The same woman who told us she was going to wait until we came in October simply could not help herself once she got us in the store.  A simple trip to get a new shower curtain liner and paper plates turned into a major spree for my kids.  She got Seth a new outfit and a stuffed turtle.  Kait got a Cinderella set (like Polly Pockets) and a Strawberry Shortcake doll.  Noah got a Star Wars figure (the big ones like Rescue Heroes).  And since Elijah is just so hard to buy for, she decided to give him cash – which he appreciated and still hasn’t spent.

Once we got back, we decided to go our for lunch.  Chip and the kids and I went to Charcoal Grill for lunch.  YUM!  Great food and it was an extra bonus for us because we found out that the kids eat free on Wednesdays so our kids ate for free and cut our lunch bill down by almost half!

After lunch we headed down to see Grandma & Grandpa and had a good visit with them.  She shared my sentiments on my mothers upcoming wedding.  Seems my mom did this the first time around when she married my dad and only gave them two weeks notice.  Go figure.  It was weird seeing pictures of my cousins whom I haven’t seen in years.  I was going to try and catch up with Keith when we were there because I know he’ll be busy when we come back in October since we’ll be there partly for his wedding.  I think the weirdest thing was seeing how BALD my male cousins are!  I’m soooo thankful that I’m a girl and my only issue is going gray early!  I’d take that over losing my hair before I turned thirty any day!

I think the hardest part about the whole trip for me was seeing how frail my grandfather has gotten.  My grandpa is a BIG man – very tall and has always been the authority figure in our family.  Now he can hardly walk across a room without holding onto something.  The disease that has ravaged his balance has really taken its toll.  We were all so worried for so many years because of his heart issues and now something totally unrelated is stealing is senior years from him.  It just makes my heart sad.  I love my grandparents dearly and it’s hard to watch them struggle.  I’m praying for a complete healing.

After we left my grandparents, we went back to Gram’s for dinner.  She made bbq pulled pork for dinner and we made it into sandwiches.  I really can’t believe that I somehow managed to *lose* weight while I was on this trip.  After dinner, Chip and I left the two older kids with Gram while we ran out to Target and then over to Kohls (I was still looking for a swimsuit at this point).  We got back to Gram’s just in time for Janet, Wyatt and Janet’s fiance, Sean, to stop by for a little while.  It was nice to get a chance to actually meet him before the wedding.  We had a nice visit and Gram was happy to see Wyatt for a while since they don’t get over there more than once or maybe twice a year even though they live in the same town.

After they were gone, it was time to get things packed up to leave the next morning.  I packed away as much as I could and we got the kids in bed.  They didn’t stay there, but we tried anyway. LOL!  They were super excited about heading to Minneapolis the next day.

Chip and I stayed up a while longer and visited with Gram some more and then settled in to watch some television until Seth finally drifted off around 11:30.  Never did get to see Laura while we were there.  Not sure what is going on with her, but I get the distinct feeling that she’s avoiding me like the plague.  I’ve got a few theories but nothing to confirm them.  But that’s a completely different story for another time.

 

Leave a Reply

