My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Wednesday June 15, 2005 June 15, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 3:23 pm

Tuesday was supposed to be a quiet day at home.  We had no plans other than to hopefully get some of the mess cleaned up.  I snuck in a nap in the afternoon because Seth has gone from sleeping through the night to getting up 3 times (UGH!) and not wanting to nap during the day.

It wasn’t until I got up from my nap and we’d eaten dinner than things got interesting.  About 6:30, right after Chip had left for youth group, Kaitlyn came running into the house screaming, “They’re going to kill it!  They’re going to kill it!”  I got her calmed down enough to understand that they had found a baby kitten outside and somehow some of the kids were going to kill it.

Now, the kids have already killed a kitten this summer.  Not on purpose, but at only 3 weeks old they just would not leave the poor thing alone and kept picking it up.  The neighbors outside cat had kittens in May and moved the sole survivor into our garage and away from the watchful eyes of us parents.  Eventually the poor little thing gave up the ghost and we had crying kids all over the neighborhood.  Now the kitten was sick already and the mother was only about 9 months old so we were surprised any of the kittens made it that long (4 others died the day of birth or day after).  But Kait was just beside herself that this kitten would suffer the same demise as Frisky’s kitten.

So, I went outside to investigate.  Indeed, if Kait hadn’t come to get me, this poor kitten might have died of a heart attack.  We have a ramp on the outside of the church and one of the favorite things the kids do is right their little rescue rider down it.  It’s a little push bike that you would see a 2 year old ride.  It has a nifty little seat that flips up and that thing can really move when going down the ramp.  Well, one of the neighborhood girls was putting that poor kitten IN the rescue rider and proceeding to ride down the ramp with the kitten inside!  Poor thing was scared to death when I pulled it out.  And it’s just the cutest little ball of fur.

So we went from Kait telling me they were going to kill it to me telling Kait that her dad was going to kill me as I brought the kitten in the house.  I’m a sucker for kittens and this one is just so little and so cute.  It can’t be more than 6 or 8 weeks old – just barely weaned.  Chip got “the look” when I told him I’d brought it in the house but understood completely when I asked if I was just supposed to leave it outside with all those kids.  We still aren’t sure if we’ll keep it or not, but for now we’re taking care of it.  I’m going to call the animal shelter and see if they help people who are willing to take in stray animals with vet bills.  Sometimes they’ll pay for shots or spaying because it’s cheaper than boarding them and trying to adopt them out.

So, our quiet day turned out to be pretty exciting towards the end.  And it was a BEAUTIFUL day outside!  We went for a walk after youth was done and really enjoyed the end of our day.  We got back and had popscicles on the porch and then it was time for baths and bed.  And I think we were ALL ready by the time we climbed into bed last night!

 

Leave a Reply

