My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Saturday June 18, 2005 June 18, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 3:58 pm

I have been putting off doing laundry since we got home from vacation.  I don’t particularly enjoy doing laundry, I hate going down in the basement and we really didn’t have all that many dirty clothes when we got home because we’d washed everything before we left Gram’s house.  But after a week of being home and having 6 people in our family, the laundry was really piling up.  I got it all sorted and carried most of it to the basement.  I washed a load and got it in the dryer and then started another load.  I *had* to do wash last night because the kids and Chip needed their tball/baseball uniforms washed.

We were about to head up to bed and as I walked through the dining room, I smelled it.  That disheatening smell of a motor burning out.  I went down to the basement and indeed, the dryer is dead.  With two loads of wet laundry.  And about 4 more loads to get done if you don’t count sheets and towels. *sigh* Why can’t the washer or dryer ever break when you are DONE with what you need it to do?  Why couldn’t it have waited until the clothes were near the END of the trying time?  (I do realize I still had clothes in the washer at this point though).  So, we ran down this afternoon to Chip’s parents and put our wet clothes into the dryer and left a load on top of the washer that needs to be dried yet.  She’ll dry them and then bring them up to us when she comes up a little later tonight.

Otherwise, not too much excitement today.  We had tball this morning for Kaitlyn.  She did a great job and we got through the entire morning without any tears!  At one point she looked at Chip and I and said, “I know the most important rule of baseball.”  When we looked at her inquisitively, she smiled her big toothless grin and said, “There’s no crying in baseball!”  I just cracked up!  What a funny girl.  Elijah’s game went well.  Personally, I’m looking forward to next year when they start keeping score.  It’s just not as exciting when they don’t keep score.  I prefer games where someone actually wins and loses.

Tonight we have a visitation to go to for a church members husband and then tomorrow afternoon Chip will be performing the funeral.  I still need to find someone to watch the kids for me.  I can just take Seth with me and then ride back to the church with Chip’s mom and then walk over to the cemetary from the church and hopefully leave Seth with her.  We’re going to work out the details when she comes to watch the kids tonight.

OH! I was wrong!  *I* had something exciting happen today!  Since my jeans and shorts are all in the wash, I was at a loss of what to wear this morning.  Up until this point, I’ve been wearing a pair of low-rise maternity jeans that had an adjustable waistband.  Well, this morning because of my current dryer crisis, I was forced to try on a pair of my pre-maternity jeans.  I was rather discouraged because I just wanted to be able to get dressed and go and didn’t think it was going to be possible.  I’m sure y’all have guessed the rest, but THEY FIT!!!!!  I was so happy that I almost cried!  And not only do they fit, but they are actually just a bit LOOSE on me!  OH HAPPY DAY!  It turned out to be a much better day than I thought it would be!

 

Leave a Reply

