My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Tuesday July 5, 2005 July 5, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 12:39 am

Well, my day didn’t go exactly as planned, but it was still a good day.  The kids stayed overnight with Chip’s mom last night and then she took them to the Sullivan parade today.  They had a good time.  We got up with Seth this morning and decided that it was a holiday and we’d take the day off.  We weren’t planning on entertaining anyone and the house wasn’t that messy, so we got ourselves ready and headed up to Target to get some stuff that we needed so we wouldn’t have to go all that way tomorrow when we run errands.

While we were on our way home from Target, some storms started to blow in.  My main trigger for migranes is frontal changes in the weather and today was a doozy.  But I somehow managed to get the potato salad made and we left for Dad & Mom’s about 4pm.  We got there only to find out that the power was out and we weren’t going to be able to do a whole lot down there for dinner since nothing worked.  We waited until Granny got there just in case the power came back on in that time and then Chip and I jumped in the van with Seth and came home to do a 10 minute tidy and clean up the house.  We managed to get it fairly presentable before they got here.  I wasn’t planning on cleaning today, but at least it’s done before tomorrow I guess.

Chip grilled and the kids played in the garage.  Well, the boys did.  Kait couldn’t resist playing in the rain.  She was soaking wet when she came in the house and promptly fell asleep (we found out later the kids were up at *5 AM* this morning and Gramma didn’t make them go back to bed!) on the couch until it was time to eat.  So, we have Chip’s parents, Granny & Mike over for dinner tonight.  They left at about 7:30 to get home and we let the kids play outside for a while since the rain had stopped.  At 8:30 we got Seth up and fed him so we could head to Sullivan for the fireworks.  Well, because of the clouds, it got dark early and they started the fireworks at 9:10 – as we were driving down there.  We pulled off onto a country road and watched from the van.  I don’t think we could have found a better place even if we’d braved the crowds and sat in the park.

It’s now 11:30 and I’m tuckered out and heading up to bed.  Chip and Seth are playing Nascar on the Xbox and I think they can handle that without me.  I’ve got a lot of work to get done this week and need my beauty sleep.  Until tomorrow…

 

Leave a Reply

