My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Tuesday July 12, 2005 July 12, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 5:29 pm

Why is it that when you have money to spend you can never find anything to spend it on?  But when you don’t, you can find a million things that you want?  I used that analogy with a friend who’d gone clothes shopping the other day, but I’m finding myself in a similar situation right now.  I’ve had a $10 gift certificate for Amazon.com that I got for filling out a survey for almost 2 weeks now and I still haven’t spent it.  And really it’s not that I can’t find something I want as much as it’s the fact that there are too many things that I want and I’m having a ridiculously hard time sorting it down to just one thing.  Between all the books, cd’s and dvd’s they have available, the choices are just overwhelming.  My husband says I’m neurotic when it comes to this type of thing.  I’m starting to believe him.

Still struggling with a migrane.  Right now it’s more pressure than anything else, but still a pain to deal with.  And because of my current condition, I’ve managed to get absolutely NOTHING done today.  Well, that’s not entirely true since I did make the kids their lunch.  But that’s about all I’ve done other than lay on the couch and watch “All Grown Up” with the kids.

Tonight Chip and I are going to watch Hotel Rwanda for the second time.  Very powerful movie, one I think everyone needs to see.  I was a bit worried at first that it might be too graphic but there was just enough shown to make the movie real and yet not make you sick from the gore – although the real situation was.  Based on a true story of the uprising in Rwanda and the absolute terror those people faced as the rest of the world turned and looked the other way.

 

2 Responses to “Tuesday July 12, 2005”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Boy can I relate to this! I won a $100 gift certificate at Macy*s a few months back and Russ won a $50 one. I labored over that like you wouldn’t believe. I think I was near panic attack stage. Instead of using for the comforter we went to buy (afterall, shouldn’t we spend it on something extra?). I ended up buying picture frames so that we could have a nice wall with nice photos. Last weekend, we finally got around to cleaning out the spare room and I think there were over 150 pictures and frames combined in that room! Just what I worried about, buying something I didn’t need! *sigh* So, do you need book suggestions?

    Jem

  2. Anonymous Says:

    I think what made Hotel Rwanda so great was its use of the subtle. You didn’t have to see anything directly, but the point was made with a punch!


Leave a Reply

