My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Thursday July 14, 2005 July 14, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 12:14 am

My day got off to an early and disgusting start this morning.  Noah woke up to eat at 6am, which isn’t unusual.  He always wakes sometime between 4:30 and 6:30 to eat depending on when he went to bed the night before.  At 6:20 I was done feeding him and sat him up to burp him so he wouldn’t get a bellyache and be awake 20 minutes later. 

(How many of y’all are sitting there shaking your head already because you know what comes next?)

Well, burp he did – and then some!  He spit up and soaked himself, me and the bedsheets. EWWW!!!!  So, I had to get myself cleaned up and change his jammies and by that time he’d had so much interaction he thought it was time to play.  And even as tired as I was, those cute baby smiles and giggles are well worth getting up at 6am for.

This afternoon a friend called to offer us tickets to the Cardinals game on Saturday afternoon – which we were happy to accept.  I called Chip’s mom and she’s going to watch the kids for us.  WOOHOO!!!  I can hardly wait!

Otherwise today was just a pretty normal day as of late.  I struggled with headaches all day because of the weather.  The kids played outside in the rain for a while before dinner and then went back out to play in the wet grass after dinner.  They were soaked by the time they came in the house, but they had a ton of fun.  Unfortunately I don’t have any batteries for my camera and MIL took hers back, so I didn’t get any pictures.  When I said something about it to the kids, Elijah piped up, “That’s ok, Mom.  That just means we’ll have to play in the rain again sometime.”  Maybe I’ll even join them.  I can remember playing in the rain as a kid (and even in college) and it was a lot of fun back then.  I wonder how much grownups miss out on the fun in life because they are too “grown up” for such things?  Just one of those thoughts that struck me today and made me yearn for childhood once again.

The only thing out the ordinary that happened today was we could NOT get Kait to get ready for bed.  She was too busy, are you ready for this?, CLEANING HER ROOM!!!  I couldn’t believe it!  She’s still got quite a ways to go, but she was sorting things out and didn’t want to be bothered to go to bed.  Hopefully she’ll be in the mood to finish tomorrow.

And on that note, g’night y’all!

 

Leave a Reply

