My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Sunday July 17, 2005 July 17, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 11:55 pm

Yesterday ended up being a great day.  We were out the door by 11:15 and headed for St. Louis.  We stopped in Collinsville for lunch at Bandana’s Bar-B-Q – which is probably our favorite restaurant and we make sure to eat there every time we go over to STL.  We got to East St. Louis and parked, strapped Seth into his carrier and then we got on the metrolink to ride it over to the stadium.

Now, I’ve only used public transportation like that about 5 times in my life, not counting airlines.  I just don’t like it.  And yesterday only reconfirmed my, shall we say loathing, of public transportation.  First, there was nowhere to sit.  I’m not that steady on my feet as it is, but that shaky feeling was not something that I enjoyed.  Second, I’m extremely claustrophobic and that thing was packed.  Seriously, it’s not like anything I’ve ever seen.  And more and more people kept crowding there way on until we couldn’t even move.  Then, in that standing only, claustrophobic mess, we had to go across the river!  UGH! I don’t even particularly like doing it in the car and really didn’t enjoy it on the Metro.  And then to make things worse, while I’m not one to panic if I can help it (I take literal that “take captive every thought” when  I’m in situations like that), but the thought of “What if the bombing that took place in London were to take place here?”  By the time we got off, it was not a second too soon.  Chip’s theory was that it would save 30-45 minutes getting out of St. Louis.  I told him next time we’re paying the extra $2 to park by the stadium and he can bring a book to read while we wait to get out!  NEVER, EVER, EVER again!

We got into the stadium and ended up with excellent seats.  We were about halfway up in Loge seating, under the upper deck and in the shade!  We were on the first base line and had a great view.  And it was Christian Family day so nobody was really getting drunk.  At least not around us.  It was nice to go to a game and see that the people sitting around us were *not* the type of people who would be spilling beer on us.

The Cardinals won the game and I even learned how to keep score (kind of) on the score card.  I’d never known it could be so complicated.  But it was a good game and we enjoyed ourselves.

We rode the Metro back to the van (can I reiterate how much I do NOT like that thing?) in just as crowded conditions and got on the road towards home.  We stopped in Litchfield and had dinner at Ruby Tuesday before coming on home.

Even with the great food and a good ballgame, I think my favorite part of doing things like that is the time we spend in the car.  Chip and I have some of the best conversations when we’re riding in the car and it was great to hear his heart on some things we’ve been dealing with or will be doing in the future.  Not sure exactly what it is, but we always seem to really open up to each other when we’re riding in the van.

When we got home, one of our favorite movies was on TV, so we sat up and watched that before going to bed.  Have y’all seen “O Brother, Where Art Thou?”  I’d highly recommend it.

I was up at 4am today just thinking over different things that I’ll probably share more on in the next few days.  Chip woke up at 6am and then Seth was up by 7am.  We got out the door and over to church (Mom & Dad kept the kids overnight so they got them ready for church this morning) and then went and had lunch.  We got home and I tried to nap for an hour before getting ready to go to a funeral visitation for a person affiliated with our church and a very distant relative of Chip’s.  Tomorrow, we drop the kids off at a sitter early so we can go to the funeral.

It’s time for bed.  Not much else is going on right now, but I’ve got some ideas floating around in my head that I’d like to get out there so hopefully I’ll find time to blog about them soon.

 

Leave a Reply

