My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Friday July 22, 2005 July 22, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 7:16 pm

Not much to blog about – we’ve had a long week.  Chip got called up to the hospital TWICE yesterday.  I went with him in the afternoon because the kids were off swimming with friends at the country club (does that make us sound snooty?) so we took the little two for lunch at Taco Bell and then went up to visit a friend/member of the church at the hospital.  He got called back up there about 9 last night for someone else who had aspirated food into his lungs (he’s mentally handicapped and has problems like this).  Thankfully he was out of surgery already when Chip was called so it didn’t turn into as long of a night as we thought it might.

While Chip was gone I watched one of my all time favorite movies – Twister.  I love that movie.  I love storms though and as far as I’m concerned we haven’t had enough good storms this year.  I love to sit on the porch and watch a good storm roll in.  I love the smell of expectancy of rain in the air and the coolness that blows in right before everything breaks loose.  And if things start to go green, I’m right out there in the thick of it.  Freaks some of my neighbors out.  I just tell them that you can tell who grew up in the midwest and who didn’t by a good storm.  When the tornado warnings start, people who aren’t used to it head right for their basement or hallway or bathroom or wherever that “safe place in the middle of your home, away from windows”.  A person who grew up here in the Midwest who’s used to that kind of thing will run right out the door to watch for the funnel clouds to actually appear before they run to the basement.  Anyway, I’m ready for a great storm soon.

Time for dinner and then we’re going to head over to swim at Jerry’s for a while.  It’s hot and only going to get hotter in the next few days.  We went out today and stocked up because I have no intention on leaving the house until this heat breaks.

Oh!  And I watched the hokey-est (is that even a word?) movie last night.  It was called Atomic Twister and it was one of those movies that was so poorly scripted and acted and full of B-list actors/actresses that you couldn’t help but watch because you knew it was going to get worse.  C’mon! A tornado hitting a nuclear power plant is plausible – but TWO hitting the same plant?  And with it run by a bunch of morons who would shut down the pumps?  PUH-LEASSSSE!!!  It’s a good movie to watch if you want to waste two hours of your life that you can never get back.  I’ve never laughed as hard as I did at the imaginary drama in that movie. ROFL!

 

Leave a Reply

