My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Monday August 1, 2005 August 1, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 9:32 pm

It’s been so busy I haven’t even had time to read the blogs on my list, let alone sit down and write out an entry for my own!

Friday night, we dropped the kids off at VBS and headed up to Decatur for dinner.  We ended up eating at Texas Roadhouse – YUMMY!  As much as I love seafood, it’s a lot like Chinese.  It fills you up, but then an hour or so later I’m hungry again.  So I chose steak & a loaded baked potato instead.  It was terrific and I love their salads and their blue cheese dressing.  It was almost 8pm before were even sat down to eat so we just came on home when we were done.  We got Seth to bed and then snuggled up to watch Ocean’s Twelve.  Chip didn’t enjoy it, but I did.

Saturday morning, we got up and Chip had a church council meeting.  Once he was done, we went down and at the at Old School Essenhaus and then did just a bit of visitation before heading over to Mom & Dad’s to pick up the kids.  Mom was still busy at the Walleye Festival, so we sat at the house and visited with Granny for a bit before she headed home.  Once Granny left, we walked up to the festival for a while and decided it was too hot outside.  We packed up the kids and came home for a while so Dad could get some sleep (he works overnights).  The kids did some swimming and I cleaned around the house for a while and then it was time to head back to Findlay for dinner.  Chip cooked hamburgers and hot dogs on the grill.  After dinner we went back to the Walleye Festival.  We walked around the car show for a while – which the boys all loved.  Kait really loved all the older cars – especially the purple ones! LOL!  We walked back down to the other end to watch Lance Miller do his sound check, but since we didn’t bring chairs we us we decided to get a funnel cake and just walk back to the house and eat it.  We finally got home around 9pm and gave the kids showers before getting them to bed.  It was such a long day for all of us that even Chip and I were in bed by 10:30.

Sunday started out like all the rest.  We got up and had a great time at church during Sunday worship and then had a great time of fellowship at the downtown restaurant afterward.  We came home and I napped for an hour while the kids played.  At 5pm, the kids had their VBS program.  It was cute and Jane (our Sunday school Supt) did a great job with the preschool class!  Even Noah (3) knew most of his memory verses and all the words to his songs.  We endured the program and then ran home to eat quickly before going to pick up Mom so we could go down to Shelbyville for a work party of hers at the Shelbyville pool.  The kids had a blast at the party!  Noah was flipping and flying down the waterslide and Elijah is working hard to learn to swim without any help.  We didn’t leave until a little after 9pm and were all exhausted by the time we got home.

Today was another long day and I’m counting the minutes until the kids go to bed.  We got up and busy this morning.  We left at 11am to run errands.  After a quick stop at the bank to deposit Chip’s check, we went to Menards to get a new sink for the upstairs bathroom.  We picked out a great pedestal sink and a new faucet and Muzzy’s will be here to install it sometime later this week.  We also got a new showerhead (the handheld kind) for the downstairs bathroom, which is making giving the kids a shower MUCH simpler.  It took longer than we had expected, so we ended up going out for lunch to Hometown Buffet.  I’m just not much of a buffet person and two in one week was more than enough for me!  But it only cost about $4 more than going to McDonalds so I’m not going to complain much.  After lunch, it was time for Walmart.  Kaitlyn & Noah each got new bathing suits.  They were both going to need them in October and since you can’t really find suits that time of year I figured we’d better get them now.  I did pretty good and even with buying new swimsuits we still made it out of there for less than $60 – which is very rare as I’m sure you know.  I did good too.  Once we got home I realized I only forgot one thing and that was because it was an afterthought this morning that I forgot to add to my list.  We really need a pool skimmer for the kids pool for getting grass and leaves and bugs and such out.  Otherwise, a quick trip to IGA tomorrow and we’re done shopping for the week.

We got home and I put the kids in their suits and sent them outside to swim in the pool while I got some work done in the house.  This evening I’m online trying to pick a destination and a weekend for meeting up with Chip’s sister so she can meet Seth since she’s not been able to make it up here and we haven’t gotten down there.

So, like I said, I’ve just been busy. Tomorrow Tuesday so things should slow down for me a bit.  Chip’s got bible studies the next three nights so that keeps me home.  I’ve got some computer work to get done for the church that I’m excited to dive into so hopefully that will give me time to blog while I get the creative juices flowing.

29 minutes and counting down…  Time to get the kids headed to bed!

 

Leave a Reply

