My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Thursday August 18, 2005 August 18, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 3:06 pm

In addition to my latest effort to be more disciplined in my eating, I’m also trying to be more disciplined in my activity.  

I’m not sure what emotion I feel, but when I remember when we first started dating and how active I was it’s enough to make me cry.  I used to walk or run at least 5 miles a day.  I actively participated in numerous sports.  In college, I chose to use the stairs instead of the elevator to reach my room on the 4th floor of the dorms for two years.  Now I can make it up one flight of stairs but more than that, forget it unless I’m winded by the time I get to the top.  This spring/early summer I was doing pretty well with being able to go the distance with walking, but high heat and humidity drove me indoors and instead of continuing to exercise, I parked my rear in front of the television or with a good book.

BUT NO MORE!!!  I’m done!  Poor health runs to rampant in my family history to stop taking care of myself now.  I’m going to start exercising at least 3 days a week – hopefully more once I build up my stamina.  Today I rode the exercise bike for 30 minutes in an effort to discipline my body.  And I followed that with 100 crunches.  An online friend of mine who is also a fitness instructor (or was at one point) told me that really I need to be doing 300 a day – 100 forward, 100 to the left and 100 to the right.  I figured I wouldn’t push it right now and I’d start with simply doing 100 to the front.  (Why is it that they had us KILL ourselves with regular sit-ups in school when crunches are so much more effective and a whole lot easier?)  I don’t want to be pushing 40 and 300 lbs like so many people that I know.  Especially since there is no medical condition to keep me from being in shape!

So, my efforts are renews.  My resolve is strong.  And my faithful readers are going to have to bear with me as I use my blog to encourage myself and track my efforts – at least at the beginning.  There are other areas of my life that I’ve resolved to be more disciplined in as well, but those are another topic for another day.

 

3 Responses to “Thursday August 18, 2005”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    You go, girl! 🙂

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Right there with ya! I am on the warpath to get rid of these 20 pounds I have been hanging on to.

    Good Luck and KEEP GOING! You will feel awesome in about 2 weeks!

  3. Anonymous Says:

    I’ve been jogging 3 miles a night and hoping to get to 5… but it is too hot around here.  I guess I need to add those crunches in.  Keep up the good work!


Leave a Reply

