My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Saturday August 20, 2005 August 20, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 10:09 pm

Today was a rather fun day for me.  I actually got out without the kids and that doesn’t happen very often.  Well, I had Seth with me, but he was no trouble.

My day started way too early as far as I’m concerned, even though it was 9:15.  After all the swimming I did last night, I had muscles that were sore this morning that I didn’t even know I had.  And I was in bed early last night and asleep before midnight.  That is something rare for me since I’m such a night owl.  I guess I got more of a workout that I even thought I did last night.

I got some cleaning done since we’ll have a guest tomorrow afternoon.  I was killing myself trying to get it all done but decided as long as the living room, dining room and bathroom are all presentable the rest of it can hide behind closed doors.

About 1:30, Chip’s mom came and picked me up and we headed up to the mall. We had a good time just hanging out and shopping.  She got some cute new clothes from Christopher and Banks and I found the outfit (several of them actually) that I want to get to wear to my sisters wedding.  The only that she didn’t buy that she really loved was a sweater and I think maybe we’ll get that for her birthday since it’s coming up so quickly.  We went to Pennys and Sears and the pet store and then she went back to buy a pair of shoes that she had tried on earlier.  While she did that, Seth and I hung out in the bookstore.  I was pleased to learn that Phillip Gulley has a new book out in his Harmony series and I’m really itching to read the new Liz Curtis Higgs book (even if I can’t remember the title right now).

Once we left the mall, we went to one of my favorite places to have dinner – Panera Bread.  I got my “usual” – half a bacon turkey bravo sandwich on Asiago Cheese foccacia bread and a bowl of broccoli cheese soup.  YUMMY!!!  I’ve been wanting to go for a long time but it’s not Chip’s favorite place to eat so we don’t go nearly often enough.

We finished our dinner and then ran to K’s merchandise to see if they have what I’m wanting to get Chip for his birthday.  I was very pleased to see that they have it AND it’s marked down on clearance by $20!  So we’ll go pick that up while we’re up in Decatur on Monday most likely.

A quick trip into Walmart to pick up a few things turned into almost an hour.  I even found myself acting like a Walmartian when I saw “neighbors” that I don’t see often and stood in the aisle talking with them while they doted on Seth for a bit.  We grabbed the items that we needed and I even picked up a card for Chip from myself.  The kids will be making him cards on Monday as part of their school lessons.

We finally pulled in about 7pm and Chip is worn out!  He said it was a long day with screaming kids and he ended up with a sunburn when he was mowing the lawn this morning.  Poor guy!  I’ll have to think up something to make it up to him.

We’ll be putting the kids in bed in a couple minutes and then I’m sure we won’t be far behind.  A friend of ours, Tom Richardson, is coming to speak in the morning and evening services.  We have a fellowship dinner between the services, which should make things very interesting for my diet.  I’ve been doing very well so far and I will definitely be picking up a scale at Walmart on Monday so I can track my progress. But I can tell a difference in the way my pants/shorts are fitting even after just a week of trying to eat better.  I’ll let you know what the scale says.

 

Leave a Reply

