My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Monday August 22, 2005 August 22, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 11:01 pm

My husband’s hair is blue!  Yes, you heard me correctly.  B-L-U-E!!!  His mom decided a week ago to throw him a surprise party and since I am the worst liar ever he figured it out.  He decided that he’d go ahead and make sure the party was a surprise alright and bought some of that washout hair stuff and colored his hair blue!  Funniest thing about it all was none of them acted like it was at all out of the norm for his hair to be blue.  LOL!  They just thought it was cool and asked if he was going to keep it that way for Sunday.  Someone even suggested he should have dyed it purple to match the Vikings jersey he was wearing.

I guess it actually looks a little bit purple in that picture.

We had a fairly long day today.  We were up by 8:30 and got started with our schoolwork this morning.  Kait did very well in her reading class today and Elijah read me TWO books in the time it used to take him to read through half of one.  They are both excited about school starting.

After school, we loaded up and went out for lunch to celebrate.  We ate at the new Ruby Tuesday.  They have great hamburgers and I loved the Black & Bleu burger I had.  Noah found a new favorite for eating at restaurants and got the salad bar.  We filled his plate and he ate more than I thought he would before starting in on my french fries.

After lunch, we went to Target and picked up a few things.  I showed Chip what I wanted to get him and he’s going to think about it.  Since we don’t really have the money for it, it will have to come out of his birthday money so I thought it only fair for him to make the decision since it’s so expensive.  He’s still thinking about it.  We stopped at Starbucks on the way out and then ran over to Circuit City.

At Circuit City, Chip got a new controller for his Xbox and a new game, Pirates.  A very quick stop to Walmart to get groceries (we were in and out in only 40 minutes – that has to be some kind of record!) and we came home.  Chip fixed up his hair and we were back out the door to go to Mom & Dad’s house for a steak dinner.

Granny and Mike came and had dinner with us tonight.  Chip grilled the steaks while Mom & I got the rest of the food ready.  We had a great dinner and then everyone started showing up for his party.  He felt blessed to have so many people that he loves so dearly show up to wish him a happy birthday (although his birthday isn’t until tomorrow).  We left at 9pm and things were still going pretty strong, but we had to get the kids in bed.

It was a great day and everyone should be so blessed. I can’t wait to celebrate all over again tomorrow!

 

2 Responses to “Monday August 22, 2005”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    DH birthday was yesteday, and the church is giving him a surprise party tonight at Home Fellowship group…. since I’m sure he’s figured it out, maybe I should run out and buy him some blue dye!!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    My DH got *permanant* blonde tips in his hair last week because one of our youth went on in the national Fine Arts in Denver. I think he looks great!

    Starbucks again, huh?


Leave a Reply

