My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Friday August 26, 2005 August 26, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 12:48 am

For the past two days, I’ve felt much like I imagine the apostle Paul felt when he talked of having a thorn in his flesh.  I’ve been struggling with some horrible migranes again.  I’ve prayed time and again for healing and while the Lord has not chosen at this point to heal me, I have clearly heard Him speaking to my heart, “My grace is sufficient.”  And somehow, knowing Him and experiencing His grace is enough.

I’ve got a new favorite blog.  I really love to do marketing type things and think that the church as a whole is greatly lacking in the marketing department.  ChurchMarketingSucks.com does a great job at not only pointing this out, but also passing along helpful marketing stategies that have worked elsewhere.  The more I read, the  more I enjoy it.  I particularly liked the story about the church who fixed up an old ice cream truck and used it this past summer to pass out free ice cream.  What a GREAT idea!  I’d go to a church if they gave me free ice cream!  Anyway, check it out.  It’s a great little blog.

 

4 Responses to “Friday August 26, 2005”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    ((hugs))I have suffered from migraines at different times in my life. I had a doozy of one this summer. First one in a long time. I was sure I was going to die. 8 hours of intense pain and throwing up. I will keep you in my prayers.

    I have checked that website out before. I’ll have to go back. The ice cream truck sounds great! šŸ™‚

  2. Anonymous Says:

    My 2 cents:  I would go to a church who had people who welcomed me and acknowledged that I was there. I think churches go about this all wrong. I don’t want to feel pressured to come. I want to go because I enjoy it. Because I am learning about God, making friends, feeling like a part of a group, etc.

    Many times I have gone to a church and not a single person in the congregation, the ministers, etc. said hello. I have even dropped my kids off in the nursery of some of these churches and no one asked who I was or anything. The one thing that I loved about the Mormon church is that they always took the time in the mornings to say hello. People actually came over to where we were sitting and talked to us and asked how we were. I felt like they truly cared that I was there each Sunday.

    For me, feeling accepted and welcome in a church would far outweigh free ice cream.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    You are in my prayers. Hang in there. Migraines are not fun especially with a new baby.  By the way I really enjoy your blog.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Thanks for mentioning the “Church Marketing Sucks” site—-it’s great! I passed it on to my dh, too.

    So sorry to hear about your Migrains—-they REALLY suck! I praise God I haven’t had one in many years, but I have a new thorn in my flesh. You are so right, it really does bring us to see that His grace truly is sufficient. I am far from praising God for this particular thorn, but I have seen a glimpse of how its presense has  brought an empathy and depth to my life that I wouldn’t otherwise have. Darn it; growth hurts. LOL 


Leave a Reply

