My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Friday August 26, 2005 August 26, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 11:26 pm

I love my husband! He’s got to be the sweetest guy on the face of the earth!  I count him daily as I remember to count my blessings.

We slept in a bit this morning.  Seth woke up at 8:15 to eat and I fed him and then we all fell back asleep in the bed.  (Well, the older kids were downstairs).  At 9:30 he woke up again and decided it was time to play!  He was happy as can be to find himself right in the middle of momma & daddy and sure did let us know by grabbing at us and smacking us with those little fists of his.

Our day was pretty normal – except that Elijah FINALLY got his room clean.  We had our school time and just hung out for a while.

At 4pm, we went and dropped the older kids off with Chip’s dad and headed up to Forsyth.  We went for dinner first at Texas Roadhouse (thanks for the gift certificate Shane & Karen).  YUMMY!  It was a great dinner.  We got seated in the “Willie Nelson” booth.  Is this something they have at all the Texas Roadhouses?  I’d never noticed it before.  Willie was all over the place on the table and on the walls.  There was even a neon guitar shaped sign that said, “Willies Corner” over Chip’s head.

After dinner we went to the mall.  Chip surprised me this afternoon by telling me he wanted to take *me* shopping with his birthday money!  Could have knocked me over with a feather.  Well, not really since I know he likes to spoil me, but I surely wasn’t expecting it!

We ended up at Christopher and Banks and I got two really cute skirts.  One is just a long khaki skirt that is very veratile.  The other is a knee length khaki skirt with some flowers on the bottom corner.  It’s very cute.  And I loved it since they were both on sale!

I passed on the green tweed jacket that I fell in love with at Kohl’s because Chip didn’t really care for it.  Gram said she’d send me some money to get something for the weddings so I’ll get it then if they still have it.  I wanted to make sure I spent his money on clothes he really liked.

After we left the mall, we went to Target.  I’m always on the search for the perfect pair of shoes and since we didn’t see any at the mall and I still needed to find a shirt we figured we’d stop since we were up that way.  I didn’t find any shoes, but I did find THREE button down shirts that I really loved.  I was trying to decide which one to get and Chip just looked at me with those adorable blue eyes of his and said, “Get them all!”  I think I may have actually squealed!  I can never find anything this easily when I’m out shopping, so this was truly a treat for me.

And *then* (as if it weren’t already enough) on the way home I was saying how it’s been easier than I thought to give up sugar, but what I was really missing was some ice cream.  I planned on picking up some little ice cream treat at Walmart tomorrow, but he stopped and got me Dairy Queen instead.  All I can say is RUN, don’t walk, and get yourself a double fudge cookie dough blizzard!  YUMMY!

We got home and Chip dropped Seth and I off and went on down to pick up the kids from his parents house.  We are so blessed to have them so near us.  We get to get out without the kids at least once a month now, usually more than that.  I know Chip’s mom is just waiting for the day that she can keep all four of them.  She asks all the time if I’m ready to leave the baby yet.  It’s kind of cute really.  I simply can’t express the gratitude that I feel for my in-laws.

So, now I’m going to go and snuggle in and read through my book some more.  I’m reading One Tuesday Morning by Karen Kingsbury for the first time and with Sept 11th quickly approaching, it couldn’t be more appropriate.  It’s been slow going working my way through though since the horror of the tragic day still seems all too close.  But that’s for another blog for another day.

 

Leave a Reply

