My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Friday September 2, 2005 September 2, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 12:17 am

More than once in the last few days I’ve been outraged at the utter ignorance of people.  Too many times I heard slander against the people of New Orleans “who wouldn’t be in this situation if they’d gotten out when they told them to.”  Now, I’ve never been to NO, but I have been to Southern Mississippi and I’ve been down on the bayou.  There are people down there who have *no* money.  And when I say *no* money, I mean exactly that.

Those people who are still in New Orleans are not there by choice.  Yes, some of them chose to ride out the hurricane.  And they did so successfully.  Never in a million years did anyone think that the levee would break in two places and flood the bowl of New Orleans.  But the people who remain behind in New Orleans are there because they had no money to get out of the city and even if they did, have no where to go.

So, if you’re out there thinking, “Why didn’t they leave?” now you know.  And the question is what are YOU going to do to help those who survived.  As you sit there at your computer reading this, perhaps enjoying a nice cup of morning coffee, what are you doing to help the victims of Hurricane Katrina?

 

One Response to “Friday September 2, 2005”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Preach on sistah!  I’m with you 100%


Leave a Reply

