My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Saturday October 1, 2005 October 1, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 6:23 pm

So many books so little time!  I really love getting together with other pastors wives and I think one of my favorite things is hearing about all the great books there are out there that I have yet to read.  I’ve been sitting on $20 worth of Amazon gift certificates for a while now and it’s absolutely agonizing for me to decide which books are the priorities.  I currently have six, yes you read that correction S-I-X, books that I’m reading and my brain just can’t wait to get started on about six more that I heard about or saw in the bookstore this weekend.  The thing is that I want to take whatever I decide to order on my trip with me, which means that I need to place my order TODAY to assure they arrive before we leave.  How do I make the decision?  I may have to resort to placing all of the names into a hat and picking that way.  *sigh*  Maybe it’s not so many books so little time, but rather so many books and so little money!

I had a wonderful time this weekend.  Thursday night took us a bit longer than expected to make it to Bloomington.  It’s harvest season which means that the tractors and grain trucks and trains are plentiful in this part of the state especially since Decatur is the “Soybean Capital of the World” and home to both A.E Staley and Archer Daniels Midland.  We had just enough time to check into the hotel before heading over to the church for a wonderful “Concert of Prayer” evening.  While it went a bit later than I’d have liked, the emphasis on prayer and the time to quiet myself before the Lord was the perfect way to start my weekend.  I was able to prostrate myself before the Lord and ask Him to work in my life, my heart, my very being.  And as I surrendered myself to Him, I listened for His voice and His guidance and direction for myself, my church and my ministry.  God is good!  And I hope to be able to share some of the things I’ve learned over the next few days.

For now I’ll just hit the highlights since I’m playing catch-up on some work after being gone.  Friday morning was a wonderful time as we gathered once again with pastors wives from across the state.  Have Seth with me really opened the door for me to talk to a lot of people that I’m not sure that I would have talked with otherwise.  We had a lovely morning session that ended with a panel forum with pastors wives from the audience able to ask questions.  I appreciated that the people on the panel were from all ages and walks of life and the wisdom I gathered from that session alone was priceless.

Friday afternoon was free time.  My mother-in-law and I had a delightful time shopping.  Lunch at Ruby Tuesdays (where she’d never been) was followed by a lengthy visit to the Berean bookstore (which only added to my book delimma as I found several new books to add to my list).  Not only were we able to puruse the books, but we knew several of the people in the store and were able to fellowship while we shopped.  It was while there that we learned about a women’s conference/retreat at a nearby church that our ladies have now graciously been invited to in two weeks.  I *hate* that it’s one of the weekends we’ll be gone but am sure they will have a splendid time.  After leaving the bookstore, we felt an afternoon “lull” coming over ourselves and hit the Starbucks drivethru for a quick pick me up.  With coffee in hand, it was time to go to the mall.  I found a wonderful little shop full of quirky coffee mugs (another addiction of mine) that I would love to add to my ever growing collection.  And I found a sweater that I’ve been coveting (it’s ok – I’ve repented! LOL) on sale for less than half of the original price at Christopher and Banks.  I had just enough money left in my pocket to purchase the sweater and it’s hanging in the closet ready to be worn to church in the morning.  Out of money, we ventured out and having time to waste before heading back to the church, we stopped at Barnes & Noble.  Yes, I found even MORE books to add to my list.  I did settle into a chair and read a book that I know I’ll never buy on natural remedies for treating animals though.  I figured by reading a book I had no interest in buying I would save myself the heartache of walking out of the store empty handed.  I did however bump into someone that I knew from here in town while there.  More than an hour away at a store that neither of us often frequents and we saw a familiar face.  It was another pastor from here in town.  After a short chat, we both went on our separate ways.

The service last night was wonderful and although it was nearly 10pm before we left the church, the time seemed to go so quickly.  My heart was blessed to see so many fellow pastors wives joining together to worship a King that we all love so dearly.  We were back at the church by 9:30 this morning for our closing session and although I when I saw on the registration sheet that 2.5 hours were blocked out for the service and wondered why so long, I was amazed at how quickly the time went by.  God spoke to me on some specific things that I’m wanting to get started in the church and also on some things that need tending in my own life.  He’s just good that way and I truly came away feeling refreshed and renewed and ready for whatever might come our way.

And what’s coming my way right now is getting things ready for our worship service tomorrow.  Back to the grindstone, but feeling ready for the tasks at hand.

 

One Response to “Saturday October 1, 2005”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I love to buy books too!  I’ve recently discovered that bying used books on Amazon is a great way to get a really good deal on books that look like new!  I just bought one tonight for $1.88…..of course there’s shipping but it was still cheaper than buying a new book!  Mention a few of the ones you are reading…..I might want to read them myself!  Blessings…..Q.’


Leave a Reply

