My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Wednesday October 5, 2005 October 5, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 7:57 pm

I’ve decided that I need to live my life more intentionally.  So often I find myself just floating through my day and flitting from one thing to the next.  It so completely opposite of the person I was when I was in college and first married.  There used to be a time when you couldn’t find me without my daytimer and a pen nearby.  I always had something planned or at least something in the works.  And it was that way on purpose because that’s the way that I enjoyed life the most.

Lately my life has been more like that.  It all began back in May when I knew I was starting to lose weight.  I’d have to go back to look for the exact post on when I cut out sugar, but since may I’ve lost 25 pounds.  How?  I was intentional in watching what I was putting in my mouth.  I quit eating sugar.  I cut back my portion sizes.  I stopped eating snacks in the evening and afternoons.  Imagine what it would be like if I actually added exercise to the equation?  I’m intentionally starting Pilates after I get back from our trip to Wisconsin.

I’ve also decided that I need to “do ministry” more intentionally as well.  I’ve copped out since we came to this church.  I’ve done my part and I think people have been happy with my performance, but the truth is that I haven’t been.  I’ve been coasting and I know it.  My house is a mess half of the time (which has changed drastically this past week), I’ve used the kids as an excuse to not be more involved, and I’ve just not taken the time to invest myself in other people.

I think the thing that God spoke to me the most this past week while I was away at the PW (which stands for pastors wife for my non-pw friends and family) retreat was that I need to make more of an effort in investing my life into those in our church, especially with the leadership.  I need to make myself available and let them into my heart and make an effort to get to know these people.  I need to always be ready to listen and ready to teach.  I’m wasting the gifts and talents that God’s given me.  I kept thinking of the parable of the talents and how those who can be trusted will be blessed.  I’ve done a LOUSY job at using my talents and abilities lately and I found myself in a place where I had to humble myself before the Lord and ask His forgiveness.  I’m so glad that God’s mercy and grace aren’t dependant on anything that I could say or do.  I’d really be in trouble then.  But I’ve decided to be intentional in ministry – to reach out more, to be available more.  And I know that as I do this and I use the talents God has given me, then HE will bring the increase.  I’m looking forward to what God is going to do in the near future in our church and in our family.

Someone asked about the books that I’m currently reading so I’ll get to that tomorrow.  I just ordered three new ones from Amazon today.  I’m just hoping and praying that they get here before we leave on our trip.

 

Leave a Reply

