My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Monday October 10, 2005 October 10, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 5:54 pm

My books are sooo close!  UGH!  They have been sitting at DHL in Decatur since Saturday morning at 7:52am according to Amazon’s website.  I could drive up there and get them if they’d give them to me.  According to the website, delivery is expected on Wednesday.  WEDNESDAY!!!  That means my books will have been sitting in their warehouse (or even worse – on a truck) for 5 days!!!  UGH!!!  I WANT MY BOOKS!!!

That said, we had a great weekend.  Saturday we went and had lunch with a friend and her family.  We had some good fellowship and our husbands didn’t seem too bored.  We were both going to drop our kids off at PK retreat so we met nearby to have lunch first.  She even let me borrow her Remington Steele videos!  We’re going to get into them tonight once the kids are in bed.  I can’t wait!  And then she blessed me even further today by bringing me clothes for Kait.  Who doesn’t love free clothes?  Well, except for teenagers anyway.

Sunday was our average Sunday.  Numbers were way down and it was hard not to be discouraged.  But I declared “This is the day the Lord has made, I WILL rejoice and be glad in it!”  Another of my efforts to live life intentionally.  It would have been so easy to be distracted by the empty seats, but instead I focused all of my attention on God and just felt sorry for those who missed out.  The idea of not wanting to go to church is just so completely foreign to me.  What better place in the world to be than in God’s house, meeting with Him, on a Sunday?

Today we went and picked up Elijah.  He had a great time.  He made quick friends with a boy in his room and they hung out all weekend.  He lost his money before the first service even so was without money the entire time.  Thankfully someone had found it and turned it in so we did get it back today.  He laid his Bible down and we spent almost 45 minutes looking for that today and Chip found it in the cafeteria.  On the way home he told us that he lost his shoes.  Silly kid took them off and forgot them in the gym.  He said they weren’t where he left them so it’s possible someone else picked them up.  Thankfully I had packed him an extra pair of shoes.  But he had a great time.  They took bagels and fed the fish in the lake every day.  They actually missed lunch today because they wanted to make sure they got to feed the fish one last time before they left.  However, I do think the highlight of his trip after the services was the meal time.  “I got to have ice cream with every meal – EVEN BREAKFAST!”  I think I actually saw Kait & Noah turn green when he told them that.  He had a great time and is already talking about going again next year.

Today I started getting my master list together of things that I need to pack for our trip.  I’m sure it’s inevitable that I’ll forget something.  Packing for a family of 6 to go on a trip for 10 days is no small effort.  I figured I’d better start now if I want to get it all done.

 

Leave a Reply

