My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Monday October 24, 2005 October 24, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 9:55 pm

I’m going to start about our trip, but will wait to post about my cousin’s wedding until tomorrow so I can post pictures too.  Let’s just say that when my grandmother told me she bought a formal dress for the wedding I knew that my khaki skirt and the trendy shirt I brought along were NOT going to work.  But that’s for tomorrow.

We left home on Friday, the 14th for WI.  About an hour before we left, I got an email from a friend (her dh and Chip were roommates in college) saying that they had just moved to WI 2 weeks ago.  So many quick emails later we were on our way out the door.  We got to Kenosha right at dinnertime.  I must brag on my kids – they travel so well.  We only had to stop once and that was because Seth needed to eat.  We always try and stop at the rest area near PawPaw since they have a playground for the older kids to play at.  It was a BEAUTIFUL day outside and everytime we passed a golf course Chip had to remark about how great it would be to be out golfing.  We pulled into Gram’s house at 5pm on the dot and had dinner and hung out with Gram for the evening.

Saturday, my sister got married.  She really was a beautiful bride. I got to see a lot of people that I haven’t seen since I got married 9 years ago.  It seems when we go home every year we’re doing good to see immediate relatives and seeing extended family just isn’t possible.  That was NOT the case this time.  My sister had a country theme and it was very nice.  Her husband is a nice guy (quiet though).  I think the “funniest” thing that happened was when my 7yo nephew, who was the best man, decided he had enough.  Halfway through the ceremony he left the bridal party, grabbed his gameboy and sat down by my mother.  What a hoot!  Luckily everyone else thought so too.  He told me later, “I’m sure glad all this wedding stuff is done.”  I can remember how overwhelming it was for an adult, I can’t imagine going through it as a kid.  Oh yeah – and for those of you who know what a klutz my sister is, I’ll share a picture of her walking boot.  She managed to trip down a stair while at the rehersal and spent the evening in the ER and sprained her ankle.  Classic Janet!

Sunday morning we got up and went to church at Prayer House Assembly.  It was a bit different than what we’re used to – a bit more laid back and slowed down.  The kids sat with us in service over the option of going to children’s church and were VERY good, so good that we took them to Pizza Hut after service as a special treat.  We spent the rest of the day at Gram’s watching football.  I was disappointed when I found out later that week that my cousins were right next door.  But we had a great time watching the Vikings get beat (which I could say the same about them from yesterday).  Gram and I both remarked that of the one Sunday that I was there to watch football with her, the Packers had a biweek.  *sigh*  We did do a little bit of shopping that evening at Kohl’s because we were looking for a pair of tennis shoes for Elijah.  I ended up finding two extremely cute pairs of pointy toe shoes that I adore.  I love getting new shoes – especially at less than $10 a pair.  We did end up finding Elijah shoes at Target though.

Monday, Gram took the kids shopping.  Elijah got a new gameboy game, Noah got new hot wheels and Kait got her birthday gift – a new Strawberry Shortcake Rainbow Sherbet doll and the new Strawberry Shortcake Berry Magical Castle.  Seth got a bunch of clothes and a Leapfrog learning frog toy thing.  She had us stop and get Wendy’s for lunch.  We went and picked my nephew up from school that afternoon and then met my mom & sister at the Pumpkin patch.  (I’ll have pictures of that soon – they are still on the laptop).  From there, we went to my mom’s for dinner and hung out there until it was time for bed.

Tuesday morning, my grandma called and asked if we wanted to meet up at Burger King for lunch.  We had a great time talking while the kids crawled around in the tubes.  Even Chip got up there for a while. It was while at lunch we discovered that I needed a formal dress for the upcoming wedding and decided to go down to Gurnee Mills to see if I could find one.  I didn’t, but I sure did enjoy trying on fancy dresses.  But I think Chip enjoyed seeing me try them on even more!

Wednesday, we headed down to Schaumburg to go to Ikea.  Have I told y’all how much I love that store?  Ok, I know I have, but I really do love that store and so does Chip.  We’re actually already planning another trip back in December sometime to do the bulk of our Christmas shopping there.  After Ikea, we went in search of a dress for me.  First we hit Nordstrom Rack and while I found a couple cute dresses they just weren’ what I was looking for.  After we were done there, the kids were just wiped out so we let them have their Starbucks treat and got them each their own coffee.  They were in heaven! LOL!  Chip then sat in the van with the kids while I ran into a couple more stores and looked for a dress worth trying on.  I finally found one and called Chip and had him bring the kids in so I could try it on.  20 minutes and 4 dresses later, I walked out with a new dress and ready for the wedding on Saturday.

Thursday morning we were up early but were moving slow.  We finally got out the door at lunchtime and went to pick my mom up so we could get some lunch.  We really just lazed around all day.  After lunch, we went to Walmart to pick up pictures for Gram (some of them from Kait’s 1st birthday) and then out to my mom’s house so I could work on her computer some and check email and such.  We ended up back at Gram’s by dinnertime and everyone was in bed early.

Friday was the highlight of our trip though.  We drove up to Appleton to visit friends who just moved to WI.  He was Chip’s roommate in college and they were both in our wedding.  We hadn’t seen them since they left the Cities when Elijah was about a week old.  We’ve kept in touch some over the years via email and the phone, but there is just something about sitting down for a face to face with people you actually have history with that warms the heart.  At 8pm, Chip started trying to get us out the door and it was near 9:30pm when we finally left.  It was just so hard to say goodbye, but so much easier since we know we’ll see them again soon.

And Saturday I’ll get to tomorrow.  It was a nice wedding and everything was beautiful.  But I am way too tired to get into it all tonight and I still need to upload photos.

It really was a great trip.  10 days is a long time to be away from home and we are all happy to be back.  We definitely kept busy while we were gone.  I got to go to Starbucks (there are TWO within 5 miles of Gram’s house) 8 out of 10 days we were gone!  Which is good since all she had to serve us was Folgers in her little 4 cup coffee maker (LOL – we each drink twice that much every day).  We saw more people than we could count and spent time with those who matter most.  And we’re very glad that we don’t have to do it all again until next year!

 

Leave a Reply

