My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Saturday November 5, 2005 November 5, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 1:33 am

4100 visitors!  WOW!  I feel loved!  I’ve been blogging for well over a year now.  When I first started doing it I can remember I’d say the word “blog” and people would look at me like I was speaking Chinese.  And then the blogging frenzy hit and it seems everyone and their husband (including mine) has a blog these days.  I guess it’s just the next thing in the trend of voyeurism that started when reality television took off.  Not that I care – I love my blog and love being able to keep up with my friends and family.  Not to mention that there are several blogs that I read that just challenge me to be a better person and to make more of an effort in my life.

My next big venture in living intentionally is going to be becoming more active in sharing what God has done for me and what He’s done in my life.  I used to think that I didn’t have much of a testimony.  I remember my grandmother taking me to Sunday school when I was a little girl and giving my heart to the Lord.  And while I’m not saying that I was without sin, I was definitely a “goody two shoes” growing up.  I obeyed my parents for the most part, I used very few curse words and always felt guilty when I did, I didn’t smoke, I never had a drink of alcohol, I was still a virgin when I got married and the strongest drug I ever used were some nifty pain relievers they gave me when I had surgery on my knee in high school and developed water on the knee (and I know it wasn’t a narcotic).

For a long while I wondered how I could share an effective testimony.  I was never delivered from something life controlling.  I was a good girl for the most part.  But then I looked at my family life.  I’m the daughter of a lapsed alcoholic (she’d say she doesn’t have a problem, but my sisters and I would differ in opinion with her).  My father didn’t drink, but did his fair share of illegal drugs.  My mother was very emotionally unstable when I was growing up.  It was a hard life.  But God saw me through it all.  I always knew that there had to be more to life than what I saw growing up and I was right.

There is a life of peace in even the hardest of times.  There is joy when it seems the world is crashing down around you and the tears are falling.  There is eternal life in a world of death and destruction.  And there is a God who loves you so much that He sent His Son to die for YOUR sins.  Even if it had been for just one, God still would have sent Jesus to earth for that one person.  And even if you’ve gone as far away from God as you think you could possibly get, He’s still right there just waiting for you to turn around and run back to Him so He can throw His arms open wide and love on you and hold you close and call you His child.  How awesome is that?  And He’s done all of that for me and I’ve had to repent in big ways lately because I’ve been treating it more like a secret lately than I should be.  It’s something to be shared. Something to be shouted from the rooftops.  JESUS LOVES YOU!  GOD LOVES YOU!  HE DIED FOR YOU!  HE WANTS YOU! HE NEEDS YOU!  HE’LL GIVE YOU THAT “MISSING LINK” YOU’VE BEEN SEARCHING FOR!!!

So, that’s my next step, being intentional about sharing my faith with the very people who need to hear it most.  Maybe tomorrow I’ll share more on how I plan to do that.

 

Leave a Reply

