My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Sunday November 6, 2005 November 6, 2005

Filed under: weather — Rebekah Sanders @ 1:27 am

OH MY GOODNESS!!!  Talk about waking me up in a hurry!  I was sitting at the computer minding my own business when a wind so fierce hit the front of our house that I thought we’d land in Oz.  Now, I love storms, I thrive on them.  I’m the first person to hit the porch when the tornado sirens go off, but this was enough to scare my heart into hyperdrive.  I looked at my husband who was sitting in the next room behind me and we both flew off our chairs at the same time.  I grabbe the baby (who had just fallen asleep) out of his arms and called for the dogs to follow while Chip ran up the stairs for the kids.  I grabbed my cellphone on the way down and met him and the kids in the basement, where we camped out for the next 10 minutes.  The tornado sirens hadn’t gone off and we were only under a thunderstorm watch so it was completely unexpected.  It literally sounded like a train was going to come THROUGH the front of the house.

We came back upstairs and Chip headed outside because we could see things out of place in the yard – gutters in the yard, the basketball hoop knocked into the front yard, the turtle sandbox that was full of toys from the side porch was nowhere to be seen.  And then it sounded as though the tornado sirens went off (we found out later that the sirens never sounded so we’re guessing the sound was the wind whipping through the top of the grain elevator).  I called the kids back downstairs and we headed back to the basement.  The wind was whipping and a call to Chip’s mom confirmed that the winds were in excess of 60 mph.  I believe my exact words were, “I could have told you that!”

20 minutes later, we could no longer hear the wind pounding our house, so we came back upstairs.  Chip headed ot the door to see if he could find our MIA garbage cans (he couldn’t) and survey the damage in the yard.  He knocked on the front door and I could see the damage.  We live in a 100 year old house and the front storm windows are completely gone.  He found the one from the office window in our neighbors yard when he walked over to talk to them.  The other one is on the porch in pieces.  The weird part is that there is virtually NO glass on the porch and these are BIG windows.  He said we lost a big part of the huge maple behind our house and our neighbors lost several of their big trees in their yard.  Chip says he thought he saw some shingles in the yard, but there is no way to know who’s house they came from until morning.

So, in the morning we’ll ship the kids off to Sunday school and we’ll take pictures and make calls to our insurance agent.  Chip said there doesn’t appear to be any damage to the church, but it’s a big, strong brick building.  I’m sure I’ll have pictures to post of the damage tomorrow.

Forget caffeine, there is nothing to get your blood pumping like a 60mph wind blowing through your living room!  And of all nights – a Saturday night!  Time to get the kiddos in bed (it’s 12:22 AM) and get that way ourselves!

 

6 Responses to “Sunday November 6, 2005”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    My it sounds like you had a night! 

  2. Anonymous Says:

    how scary. Glad you guys aren’t hurt!!

  3. Anonymous Says:

    oy vey! I am glad that you all are ok. Those storms are so scarey when they come that close to you… enough to do damage. When we lived in Champaign, IL we had gusts of wind like that all the time. It got to the point where i hated thunderstorms because you never know if they are going to bring something or not! And Kansas was worse for these things then Illinois was! Now that we are in Arkansas in a nice little valley where there are less of these types of things.

    In Illinois we lived on the second floor of an apt building. Never again. If God calls us to a state with these storms… we WILL live in a place where we can seek more adequate safety.

    ANyway all that jibber jabber.. glad you’re ok!

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Yikes! And you’re right…why is it always Saturday nights?!

  5. […] went off. Lots of wind. Lots of rain. Lots of whining from the kids and dogs. (After we had a down draft 2.5 years ago that ripped the windows off the front of our house, the oldest two get a bit freaked by […]


Leave a Reply

