My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Saturday November 19, 2005 November 19, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 12:51 pm

Chip and I did something last night that we rarely do.  We stayed up half the night talking.  We finally made our way to bed about 2pm.  I’m a night owl, but he’s more of a morning person (he’s a night person too – but hates afternoons).  We rarely stay up talking like that anymore so it was nice.

We were able to sit down and discuss some of the dreams we have for our community.  The truth is, we aren’t very relevant in our community.  We try.  We have programs for people who come into our church ranging from nursery to PrimeTimes (those 50+), but we’re not doing much to draw people into those ministries.  We’re sorely lacking in our outreach efforts to reach out to the community.  We need to be more.  We both have things that God has laid on our heart to do, but with very limited resources, we find ourselves struggling with where to begin, how to get to that point and then once we have people visit finding a “hook” if you will to keep them coming back.

I explained it last night to Chip that it’s like we’re on the first approach of a roller coaster.  You get scared out of your mind and the machinery works so hard to pull you to the top.  I hate heights so it’s even worse for me.  And it seems to take FOREVER!!!  And that’s where I’ve felt we’ve been for a while now.  Almost to the top, but just not quite over yet.  It’s frustrating to know that we are so close.

I realized though that last night, I’ve lost sight of what’s on the other side of that climb.  The thrill, the excitement, the joy that comes after that long, hard climb as you go careening downward and begin the next phase of your journey.  I’ve started to be disillusioned because of the effort it’s taking us to get to the top and I’ve lost sight of the goal – making it to the top before we go blasting off to new places.

So this morning I’m not sure what’s coming next exactly, but I’m excited to get there.  I know it’s going to be great when God finally pulls us to the place where we take off and go speeding into the plans He has for us as a church body in our community.  How much longer it will take, I’m not sure.  But I can feel us nearing the top!!!

 

2 Responses to “Saturday November 19, 2005”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I know the feeling! Praying that God blesses your efforts!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    I’ll be praying for you! It seems we’ve been on that hard climb for 7 years now. I love that analogy! In the next six months we’ll either be on that exciting thrill ride or getting off the rollercoaster! 🙂


Leave a Reply

