My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Sunday December 18, 2005 December 18, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 10:11 pm

We leave for Chicago in the morning!!!  WOOHOO!!! Ok, really, we’re going to Kenosha, WI tomorrow, but we’ll spend the day Christmas shopping in Chicago on Tuesday.  I simply CANNOT wait.  There is nothing quite as spectacular as shopping in Chicago at Christmastime.  I’m so excited I’m not sure I’ll be able to sleep tonight.

Sorry for so few entries this week.  We had the stomach flu and I was the last to come down with it.  I got an email today that said “Smiling is like the flu, it’s contagious”.  Um, I’m sorry, but when you have what I experienced this week, there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to smile about.  ICK!

We had a great time today.  This morning was the kids Christmas program at church.  I’ll have pictures up tomorrow hopefully before we leave.  The kids all did a great job and Elijah was the only one who didn’t forget any of his lines.  After the program, they all went downstairs to open gifts.  One of the benefits of having a small church is that the congregation all pick the name of one child and each child gets a gift at Christmastime.  I’m not sure who enjoys it more, the kids getting the gifts or the ones giving them!  Kait got a million stickers and a colored pencil “learn-to-draw” set.  Elijah got Star Wars Legos.  Noah got some trucks with trailers that haul a jet ski and snow mobile.  Seth got a Fisher Price phone (like the one I played with as a kid), a little top thing where you push on the top and the animals inside spin around like a merry-go-round and a book.  AND we had unchurched visitors!  Probably the best gift of all for Chip and I!

Tonight was our annual church Christmas party.  WOW!  That was a lot of food!  We did things a bit differently this year and had people sign up to bring specific dishes.  Normally the church provides all the food, but we just didn’t have the finances or energy this year.  The church council showed up early to help us set everything up (along with about half the church) and we had a great time of fellowship with everyone.  They surprised us with a generous Christmas gift (which we really were NOT expecting this year since they just took up an offering to replace the uber-expensive tires on our van last month) and I’m sure we’ll have a great time spending it while we’re away on our trip.

And did I mention we’re going to CHICAGO!! to shop!  I’m so hoping I can convince my husband to go downtown (not holding my breath though since we’ll have the baby with us and it’s cold outside) since the big display this year is Cinderella.  There is simply nothing better than Christmas shopping in Chicago!

 

One Response to “Sunday December 18, 2005”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I think I’d take a good old fashioned potluck over a catered church dinner any day!


Leave a Reply

