My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Tuesday January 3, 2006 January 3, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 8:07 pm

One of my goals for the new year is to ACT and not REACT when my kids are acting up.  Let me tell you, tonight they really put me to the test!  Chip is at youth at the church and all three of my kids are screaming and yelling and fighting.  Last year, I would have been right in there screaming at them.  I realized about 3 months ago that it doesn’t help matters, so I’ve been sitting quietly and reminding them gently that there are consequences for their actions and if they don’t stop, they will be paying those consequences.

The task was fairly simply.  Clean your room before your dad gets home if you want to play a game.  The bedrooms were not that messy.  It would not have taken a lot of time.  But they couldn’t leave each other alone and they’ve been screaming and crying and whining.  3 minutes ago, they all came running in to me at the same time and I simply said, “That’s enough.  We will NOT be playing a game when your dad gets home.  Go put your pajamas on and stay in your OWN rooms until your dad gets home.  If I hear anything more, you’re going to bed as soon as he gets home.”  They all took off out of here, but less than 2 minutes later were back and at each other again.

I’m done.  They are going to bed.  I didn’t scream, I didn’t yell, I didn’t even raise my voice.  I waited until they were calm enough to hear me and simply stated the fact.  Now they are all back upstairs crying and whining, but at least they have a common enemy – ME!  Enough is enough already and I’m done for the night.  It’s time to put the kids away!

But I’m proud of myself.  Screaming doesn’t do any good, it just upsets all of us even more than we already are.  So, for tonight at least, I’m sticking with my goals.

 

8 Responses to “Tuesday January 3, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Way to go mom! I remember those days and it is so hard not just to yell at them to all go to their corners! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Good job! I’m totally rooting for you on this one. That is a great goal!!

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Wow!  Good for you!  That’s a worthy goal, and you’re off to a good start.  ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Way to go. . . hope I can put that kind of parenting into practice some day!

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Wow, great job!!!  You are now my inspiration to do the same.  Even though I only have one, I seem to find my self getting so fustrated and raising my voice.  I guess I just haven’t had to really deal with it until this last few months because he has been such a good listener.  Now he is testing new ground, and I need to find a good response.  You get a “YOU GO GIRL” for last night, and for the rest of the year that is going to strengthen your parenting skills!!!

  6. Anonymous Says:

    Good job MOM!!!! To this day I often remind my daughter who is 20… I did not play this game with yu when you were 5 I am not going to play it now. I am rootin got ya!!! YEAH MOM!!!

  7. Anonymous Says:

    Wow……..that takes a lot of control!  :0)    I’m working on not raising my voice and being impatient, and allowing my son to “push my buttons”……

  8. Anonymous Says:

    I love putting the kids “away” for the night. ROFL Whew!


Leave a Reply

