My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Thursday January 12, 2006 January 12, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 6:49 pm

I am exhausted!  Things are still going ok for our friend.  We’re praying for a full recovery.  They put her on a ventilator so for now things are ok.  However, Seth is working on cutting a new tooth and has decided that nights are now for partying instead of sleeping.  He was up with Chip until after 3am and then up again to nurse at 4, 6 and whatever time I finally kicked Chip out of bed and asked him to take him downstairs (I had fed him then too).  There is simply not enough coffee in the world to help how tired I feel.

I’m going to brag on my kids for a minute.  One of the wonderful things about homeschooling is that we really get to do life together.  Our weekly shopping trips, school, lunch, and even special events like the ministers meeting this past week.

Tuesday morning, we all got up and moving.  There were trays of food to be put together before the meeting so our wonderful ladies from our church could serve lunch.  We all got out the door early and over to the church.  Let me tell y’all – my kids just shine when I need them to!  They jumped right into that kitchen and lent a helping hand!  Kait ran back and forth from putting pickles on a tray to taking care of Seth to putting the salt & pepper on the tables.  Noah put together the “coffee tray”.  He put all the creamer and sweetener on a tray and worked painstakingly to make sure it looked nice.  And Elijah.  WOW!  The boy has a bit of his mother’s hospitality in him!  He put together a cheese tray for me.  I’ll tell you, it was so impressive that I couldn’t have done better myself.  When I said something about it to the ladies in the kitchen, they really thought we had bought it that way – they couldn’t believe that my 8 year old SON had done that.

But it doesn’t stop there!  Once the pastors all came downstairs for dinner, Elijah was johnny-on-the-spot, running as a go-between and refilling things on the table as they ran low.  Every time I turned around he was busy working.  Kait made sure she kept Noah out of the way (by this time I had handed Seth over into the welcoming arms of one of our ladies) and occupied.  When they finally sat down to eat, Noah didn’t think twice about inserting himself into conversation with our guest speaker (a presbyter from another section) when Mom & Dad were nowhere to be found.  We finally made our way over and found that he really held his own too.

And the best part – they didn’t fight or even argue with one another the entire time!  I said something to them later about how I was so proud of them for all their hard work they did.  Elijah piped up, “Mom, it’s easy when you remember Who you’re working for.” and pointed to the sky and gave me a wink before going back to playing his Xbox game.  I think maybe they understand the whole ministry thing a bit better than some adults I know.

I just wish I’d have remembered to bring my camera to capture it all on film.

 

5 Responses to “Thursday January 12, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    That is great! What a sweet story, I love it when kids express stuff like that.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    WOW!!!  🙂

  3. Anonymous Says:

    What a blessing!  That’s wonderful!

  4. Anonymous Says:

    This is one of those WOW GOD moments. I love it!!! WHen things like this happen I thank God for the blessing he has given us!!! I am still praying for your friend.

  5. Anonymous Says:

    How rewarding!! 😀


Leave a Reply

