My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Tuesday January 17, 2006 January 17, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 12:22 am

“Daddy has no sense.”  Those were the words Noah spoke to me over lunch on Sunday afternoon.  I was a bit flabbergasted and I’m fairly certain just sat there in shock because he repeated himself.

“Daddy has no sense.  And he’s running out of books.”

I thought maybe he had overheard Chip and I discussing our want for some new book or anything.  Had no idea where the “no sense” thing came from, so I asked him to repeat himself.  This time I heard,

“Daddy has no sense and he’s running out of bucks.”

That’s when I put two and two together and made my own sense of his comment…

“Daddy has no CENTS and he’s running out of bucks.”

Apparently Noah had asked for money for the offering that morning, but Chip didn’t have any of the usual change in his pocket.  He had no “cents” as Noah would say.

But it sure was funny until I figured it out.  “Daddy has no sense.” ROFL!  What a funny guy!

On a completely unrelated note (or maybe not so unrelated because we are NOT running out of bucks and were able to place an order), today was one of my favorite days of the year.  Girl Scout cookie day!  Our neighbor girl across the street came and knocked on the door, form in hand, equipped with her trusty pen, a smile, and her cute little brother.  How could I say no?  Ok, who am I kidding, I wouldn’t say no anyway!  I ordered my fair share and walked through the day with a smile knowing that in 4 – 6 weeks, she’d be back again – this time with my cookies!  WOOHOO!!!

And on an even better note, Chip went to see Sally in the hospital today.  They were able to take her off the respirator yesterday and today she was sitting up in a chair when Chip when to visit!  THANK YOU GOD!!!  YOU ROCK!!!  She said her dr is going to write a paper for the journals on her because she really should NOT be alive.  Most people wouldn’t have made it through the first time (last year), let alone a second time.  They were going to move her out of ICU this afternoon and into a regular room and hopefully she’ll be able to go home soon!  Thanks for all your prayers out there!  As much as I hate the sickness part of ministry, this part of it just rocks!

 

2 Responses to “Tuesday January 17, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    LOL  That sounds like something my kids would say! 

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Ya know, girl scouts are evil!  Who else would sell cookies at the exact time of year when people are still trying to keep resolutions!


Leave a Reply

