My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Monday January 23, 2006 January 23, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 12:05 pm

I’m a sucker for gadgets.  Some of my favorite shows on TV are the ones that highlight new gadgets.  For years I’ve been trying to convince Chip that it would be FUN to go to Chicago when they have their home show or their big kitchen show, but for some reason he doesn’t think so.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to waste my money on things I won’t use, but I love learning what’s out there and really enjoy it when one is inexpensive enough for me to buy.

Enter – the self-heating can of coffee!  I had seen this on one of my shows last fall but had completely forgotten about it until Chip ran across Wolfgang Puck Gourmet Lattes while we were at Target a few weeks ago.  About a week ago, when he wasn’t with me, I picked one up.  It was only $2 so I figured this was one gadget I could afford.  And I was thoroughly intrigued.  Coffee in a can that heats itself.  It doesn’t get much cooler than that!

We decided we’d wait until we were heading out the door some day to see if this was truly as portable as it claimed.  The can looked quite a bit like that of a can of soda, only slightly larger.  There were pull tabs on both ends and a “coffee sipper” on the top.  You pull the bottom of the can off to reveal a button, which you press firmly.  Water mixes with some chemical compound which creates heat up to 145 degrees, warming the coffee in the inner chamber, which takes about 6-8 minutes.  You know it’s done when the “hot spot” turns from pink to white.  Once it’s hot enough – the can does get a bit warm, but not too hot to handle even though it is metal – you open the top and enjoy.

That is until you get to the coffee!  Ok, I’m the first to admit that I’m a bit of a coffee snob.  And if you like those International Delight coffees you can buy in the grocery store, you’d probably enjoy these coffees.  For me, it was way to sweet and I couldn’t taste much coffee.  It would be a great product for teenage coffee virgins who still need most of the coffee flavor knocked out of it in order to enjoy it (ahhh, that brings back memories! LOL).  My kids *loved* this coffee and we were more than happy to let them finish it off after Chip and I each took a drink.

But I still think it’s a great idea!  We had tried the caramel one at the kids insistence.  I might give it one more shot and try the espresso one, but for the most part I think I’ll stick with Starbucks.

 

 

3 Responses to “Monday January 23, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Hi there! My husband and I love Starbucks, he works for a company that does a lot of service work for them! Captivating sounds like an interesting read, I think I will have a peek at it. I’m new to Xanga, hope you don’t mind if I subscribe to your site. I’m looking forward to meeting some new friends. 🙂 Fern

  2. Anonymous Says:

    I don’t drink coffee unless I have a head-splitting migraine. I then add twice the flavoring to half the coffee. This sounds right up my alley, LOL.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Hello –I am just browsing.  My father lives in the Effingham area.  He is a retired banker.  My husband is pastoring here in the West.  I’ve been here 16 years-  So when I saw your sight on the blog ring I had to look into it.   I am always longing for “home” and look to see if I can vacation from my computer!

    Coffee–I like the mild ones:)—Blessing to your family


Leave a Reply

