My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Wednesday February 15, 2006 February 15, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 8:52 pm

I think I have the flu.  I don’t have a fever, but I spent the better part of the afternoon throwing up, I’m weak and my body aches all over.  I feel like someone ran me over with a big truck.

However, if y’all want something to discuss in the comments, here’s one for you: When it comes to church, do numbers matter?  I’ll be back to give my thoughts when I’m feeling a bit better.

 

4 Responses to “Wednesday February 15, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

     First of all, I’m so sorry you are sick. I hate throwing up and having the flu. it’s especially rough when you are achy but can’t take any tylenol because you’re puking too.. NOT FUN.

     Next… the number’s thing. Do number’s matter when it comes to a church? It depends on the church and who the leadership is. I think for a lot of pastor’s, they measure their success as a pastor by the “number’s” of people attending their church.

     I think a church can be completely in the will of God and honoring to Him with 10 people, and a church of 800 can be completely off track and compromising His message.

     So, ” No” number’s don’t really matter- not to God. The weird thing is, I believe SOO strongly in this and yet, when we have a huge number in attendance on a Sunday, I do find myself feeling more excited. WHY? I know that 200 doesn’t mean any more to the Lord than 100, but I think I was taught for so long (and had the mindset) that number’s equal success that although I KNOW it’s not truth, I still have to remind myself of that.

     Success should be measured in spiritual growth (which is hard to measure because that often = struggles and trials!). We like to “see” success tangibly that’s why I think so many get hung up on number’s.

      But when it comes down to it, I’d rather be at a church our size and know they have real heart’s for the Lord and His word, than to have 1000 mediocre Christians who see church as a social club.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Yup, I agree with Miss jsprig.  It’s hard not to get caught up in numbers, but I don’t think they really measure what’s REALLY going on in a church.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    I agree with the two previous posts!   Numbers to me do not really measure what is really happening like agapetos7 mentioned.  And like jsprig, I’d rather be in a smaller church with the right priorities than a huge church.

    Hope you feel better soon!

  4. Anonymous Says:

    I think numbers matter. Only because if we are fulfilling the great commission then numbers will be added. If we are satisfied to minister to our church people and not reach out to the community that God has placed us in then to that church numbers won’t matter. I don’t think that numbers in themselves are important, I just think that if we are doing our job and reaching people for the Lord then the churches will be busting at the seams.


Leave a Reply

