My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Saturday February 25, 2006 February 25, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 12:41 pm

And slowly trying to dig my way out!  In the course of my latest funk, I’ve let the housework slip past me.  It can’t say it’s gone unnoticed because you can’t help but notice it, but I’ve done everything humanly possible to ignore it.  However, we have Life Groups tomorrow night.  Our home will serve as host to 7 other people, which means that I have a lot of work to do.  Chip is still sick and not much help, so it’s falling on me and I feel like I’m under the pile without a shovel to dig myself out.  Have I ever told you how much I hate doing housework?  It’s probably my least favorite thing in the world to do.  But alas, today my list looks much like this…

Office:

  1. Clean off desk
  2. Pick up toys
  3. Install new outlet cover
  4. vacuum
  5. clean off mantle & throw stuff away
  6. Straighten bookshelves

Living Room:

  1. Clean off tables
  2. Dust shelves/tables/mantle
  3. Dust/vacuum ceiling fan & ceiling
  4. pick up toys and move them to office
  5. fold & put away the endless supply of blankets & pillows
  6. Clean out shoe closet
  7. Vacuum

Dining Room:

  1. Clean off table (which is toppling over)
  2. move sewing machine to bedroom closet
  3. vacuum

Kitchen:

  1. Do 3 days worth of dishes (I hate not having a dishwasher – Chip does them)
  2. Clean coffee station
  3. Clear top of refrigerator
  4. Sweep
  5. Swiffer

Bathrooms:

  1. Do laundry (which is a pile in and of itself) – wash, dry, fold/hang, & put away
  2. Scrub toilets
  3. Scrub sink & tub
  4. Sweep & Swiffer

Bedroom:

  1. Sort through endless supply of baskets of clothes we don’t wear anymore that got thrown in our room over the last 3 months (about 6 baskets worth)
  2. Wash sheets/blankets
  3. Dust
  4. Vacuum

Kait’s Bedroom:

  1. I kid you not when I say this is a mountain that I do NOT want to climb.  But the job is too much for her to do alone so I’ll tackle it after dinner tonight.

  2. Vacuum

So, the real question is, “Will I get it all done?”  Probably not, but I’m hoping to come close.  Now I just need to find the motivation to get myself out of this chair and start working so I can get out from under the pile.

 

2 Responses to “Saturday February 25, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I totally relate to feeling under the pile sometimes. That’s a lot to do and I understand the pressure. How did it all go?

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Ugh…I have to clean too….wish I could have maid service!

    I feel for you…I really do!!!

    I’m procrastinating today!  LOL!

    Shen


Leave a Reply

