My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Friday March 3, 2006 March 3, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 8:31 pm

I love Ebay.  My addiction gets so strong some times that my husband has to get on me about it because packages keep arriving in the mail.  I’m sure it all stems from my love of numbers and being able to get a good deal on things.  I love the feel as I sit and wait for an auction to get to the final seconds and the even bigger thrill of sniping something that I want with the finess of an experienced eBayer.  (I *hate* the sniping software they have out there – what’s the fun in that?).  I love the thrill I get as I wait for the page to reload in the final seconds to find out if I’ve really won.

But I’d completely forgotten the even bigger thrill that comes from SELLING things on eBay and watching the prices slowly creep up over a week.  I forgot the sense of anticipation that comes on you in the final hours as you wait to see if a bidding war will breakout in the final moments of one of your own auctions and drive the price up – especially when you can see how many people have that item on their watch list.  It’s addictive and my auctions still have a few hours left to go.  I had an experience with a sour buyer quite a while ago that left a bad taste in my mouth and completely turned me off to selling on eBay.  Chip’s grandmother is actually the one who got me started again last week because she had a beautiful quilt topper she’d made that she wanted me to try and sell (not sure if it will or not, she had a reserve price set).  Now that’s I’ve refound that thrill, I’m excited and telling everyone that I know.

And I find it funny because it so parallels where I’ve been at spiritually lately.  I had lost that fire, that passion that comes with being a new believer.  When you’re a teen, you have things like camp and retreats to refuel yourself.  When you are an adult, you seem to just lose something (maybe it’s too many experiences that leave a bad taste in your mouth – kind of like my eBay experience).  But wow! I am so glad that I’ve refound that *love* for Christ that makes me want to share the excitement with people that I meet.  The fact that Christ loves me UNCONDITIONALLY is just such a cool thing that I just have to tell someone.  Especially since He loves them unconditionally as well.  And there are so many people out there that have no idea!  Everyone searching for something and if I don’t tell them, then who will?

 

3 Responses to “Friday March 3, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I can sense your passion for ebay …. you’ve sparked my interest!  

  2. Anonymous Says:

    We just finished our first ever sales on ebay. It really is exciting!

  3. Anonymous Says:

    i love ebay.. nothing like it..I bought and sold on ebay.


Leave a Reply

