My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Friday March 10, 2006 March 10, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 12:59 pm

I’m still reading through The Barbarian Way, by Erwin McManus.  It’s been a slow read, not because it’s a hard read but because so much of what is in this book just resonates with who I am and the way I view ministry.  I love ministry.  I love people.  I love Jesus.  And I love putting those three loves together!  I love the fact that in our church we do life together.  People in our church regularly hang out outside of church.  The love one another and they’ve found true, honest relationship within the body.  And they are at a point where they are ready to go out and find others to bring in to share the love with!  THAT is exciting!

Anyway, back to the book.  A few weeks ago I was sitting in the drs office with Chip and reading.  One phrase seemed to just LEAP off the page at me:

“Discipleship has become the mechanism for uniformity rather than uniqueness.”

It was one of those things that just really grabbed me because, sadly, it’s true.  We have discipleship classes where we learn the rules of being a Christian and are told what is and is not acceptable.  We try to force people into some mold of Christianity and what we think a Christian should look like.  But what if???

What if, instead of trying to make everything uniform, we were to embrace the uniqueness of each individual?  Sometimes I think we get so caught up on forcing people to be part of the BODY that we forget that the body has ARMS and LEGS and a SPLEEN and so on.  Each part has a uniqueness – something that only it can do.  We function together as a whole, but God gave us each a different function for a reason.

I think it’s time we start EMBRACING our differences.  That we start realizing that we are each unique and different and that’s OK!  If we learned anything in yesterdays blog it’s that God does NOT make mistakes and He made us, so if we’re unique it must be for a reason.  Every individual has a place in the church and has gifts and talents that can be used to build the Kingdom of Heaven.  It’s time to stop criticizing and belittling fellow believers and start WORKING TOGETHER to get the job done.

 

One Response to “Friday March 10, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Oohhhh…That’s good stuff!  I’m sick and tired of all the “rules” that make us “good Christians.”  A friend of mine showed me a book written by her friend about spiritual temperments.  It helps us discover our unique way of connecting with God and growing and thriving in relationship with him.  Some people connect with God through nature, some through music, some through intellect, some through service, etc…  If we tell everybody that they have to get up at 5:00 AM, spend 10 minutes reading through a devotional, 5 minutes reading the scripture of the day and 15 minutes praying, then I think we minimize the other connections they have with God throughout the day.  However, if we give people tools to maximize their unique experiences with God then we are giving them ways to grow in discipleship.

    I’ll have to think about that some more.

    Sorry you’re sick!

    -Summer aka Mountaingirl-


Leave a Reply

