My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Sunday March 19, 2006 March 19, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 11:08 pm

We were able to have lunch with new friends this afternoon during our fellowship dinner at the church.  They are newlyweds who are itinerating and preparing to go to a Muslim country to be language students.  Hopefully they’ll get a chance to share the Gospel while they are there.  He spoke in the morning service and something he said really challenged me.

He was speaking about Abraham and how God called him to a land that he didn’t know and wasn’t sure where it was.  He simply told Abraham to go to the land and He’d tell him when he got there.

So, imagine with me that you were to come home from work tomorrow afternoon and hear the Lord speaking to you.  He tells you to pack a small suitcase and leave everything behind you and get in your car and drive.  Don’t worry about where you’re going.  He’ll tell you when and where to turn and most importantly, He’ll let you know when you’ve arrived at your destination.  He’s got something great in store for you, but it’s a surprise.  You have to have faith and simply trust Him.

Now, I wish I could say that I would abandon everything and just follow.  I really, really want to get to a place like that in my heart.  But if I’m really honest, I’m a person who wants to make sure that things are going to be taken care of first.  I mean, how can I just pick up and go?  What about the kids (whom I know would be coming with, but kids mean planning, don’t they)?  What about paying the bills?  Where will we live when we get where we’re going?  Will we be coming back?  When?  What’s the timeline on that sort of thing?  I’m a person who likes to plan the work and then work the plan.  Surprises throw me into a bit of a tailspin.  I can recover from them, but it’s a lot of work because of the way that I’m wired.

But I really, really want to get to a place where I can surrender with complete abandon.  I know that God knows what’s best for me and is working all things together for His purpose in my life – whether the good or the bad.  But what would happen if we were to take our eyes off of what we can see and put out trust in the One that we can’t see?  We could turn our eyes upside down for the cause of Christ.

So, that’s where I’m standing today.  I’m standing in the driveway, awaiting direction (which ironically, I heard God speaking and saying was right here in our present community so I’m speaking figuratively), and saying “Lord, where you lead, I will follow!”  I can’t say that I’m not sweating the small stuff, but I’m willing to be obedient and do what He’s calling me to do.

 

Leave a Reply

