My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Sunday March 26, 2006 March 26, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 10:51 am

Chip called this morning.  Twice.  I sure do love that man of mine.

His chest xray has not changed at all.  He will not be coming home today.  They are going to piggyback another antibiotic with the one that he’s already taking with hopes that it will help move things along.  He did get some sleep last night though so that’s good.  They’ll repeat the chest xray again in the morning and if things have started moving, they’ll see how he feels (pain levels, pulse ox without being on oxygen, etc..) and then decide if he can come home tomorrow night or not.

The funny thing is that he’s so concerned about church this morning and this and that.  He said he thought of a million things that needed to be done this morning and I told him that this will be a good indicator of how well our people have been listening to his heart for the last 4.5 years.  For the last 4.5 years he’s preached, I’ve taught, we’ve discipled people to know that church is NOT about the pastor doing everything.  That everyone has a place in the body and every person has a function.  I told him that if our church can’t function without him (and I understand it’s just where his heart is this morning) then they obviously haven’t been listening.  I told him maybe God was using this not only to teach us something ourselves, but also going to use it to really test our congregation and see what they are made of and to teach THEM something.  He’s just a good God like that.  He agreed with me and said he’d just see how things go.  I did however assure him that NOTHING would be cancelled simply because he’s in the hospital.  The show will go on.

So, that’s where we are in this saga.  Praying that he can come home tomorrow and taking the word that God gave me about perseverence at the beginning of the year in a whole new light.  Thanks for the prayers.  If anyone wants to talk to him, they can call us on our cell phones (which we CAN use in the hospital).

 

3 Responses to “Sunday March 26, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I’m so srry he won’t be home tonight, but I think you both hit onsomething and I FElt compelled to share  your entry w/ dh.  The new place we are going has a few people that hold the pastor does everything mentality and this illness has shown me that dh can’t permit it even from a few.  What if something like this happened to him.  The body doesnt stop functioning over one man.  I spent my dh’s sermon in the nursery and yet yours has ministered to me from his hospital bed.  Still praying for you guys.  Been praying since you left in the middle of our im thinking he was having an asthma attack.

    Take care, LCinTraining

  2. Anonymous Says:

    I’m so sorry! I’m praying sweetie. ((hugs)) Praying for your dh and for your church.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    still praying bek for you and your husband.  just keep believing that God hears.


Leave a Reply

