My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Monday March 27, 2006 March 27, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 8:37 am

1. That God is all powerful, has perfect wisdom and in control!  I am sooo thankful that this is not left up to me.  I’d sure make a mess of things!

2. Chip (I could fill the pages with these but I’ll just add a few points under one number) – he’s is strong, handsome, intelligent and loves me more than I deserve sometimes.  We have a terrific marriage and I count every day that we are married as a privelege.  My life is definitely fuller with him in it.  (Message for Chip since you’re home if you’re reading this: I want some coffee!  And not an espresso! LOL!)  I love that we can have fun with one another and have our little inside jokes that would seem like normal conversation to others but to use carry a funny little meaning that is sure to bring a smile to at least my face.  I’m thankful that he’s not getting any sicker.  I’m thankful that I’ll soon be able to bring him home.  Like I said, I could be here all day folks…

3. Friends and family who love us and support us.  We have a couple of friends who have really rallied around us.  The ones close by have gone above and beyond for us.  Chip’s family is all close for the most part (his sister is the only one who isn’t and they are talking multiple times a day to check in on him).  We have felt the prayer support of everyone who is far off, but it’s been nice to have physical arms wrapped around us too.

4. My kids have been wonderful through all of this.  Actually, I think Elijah & Kait think it’s just been a big party.  They’ve been spoiled by friends and family and I’m not even sure they’ve had time to miss their dad.  Noah misses Chip greatly, but he’s been doing really well except at bedtime and when he wakes up.  Seth is really too young to know the difference, but I know he misses his daddy because he crawls around the house calling out, “Dada!” and looking all the places Chip should be.

5. I’m thankful that our finances are holding out still.  I’ll be honest this has been a finacial struggle for us.  But God is faithful and we know he’s going to provide for all of our needs through this.  It’s not our money anyway – it’s HIS!!!

6. I’ve been in great health except for a cold a few weeks ago.  I normally spend the months of November through April battling a cold or the flu or some other ailment.  This year, my health has been almost perfect.  My iron levels have been staying up (I suffer from chronic iron-deficiency anemia), I’ve had energy and most importantly I’m healthy!!!  God is good!

7. I’m thankful that Chip’s job provides him with a laptop that we are able to bring to the hospital and watch DVD’s on.  Technology is great!  Too bad the hospital doesn’t provide free wi-fi! LOL!

8. I’m thankful that through all of this, I’ve kept my joy.  I’ll be honest, there have been times that I’ve been sad, but I’ve never lost my joy.  I know that God is in control and that He’s got a plan in all of this.  He is sovereign, I am not.  I’m putting my trust in Him and my hope and joy come from the Lord!

9. I’m thankful that Chip’s health should return to normal when this is all done.  The dr told him yesterday that he sees nothing in his xray that would indicate long term damage.  I’m thankful that Chip has a dr who has a great bedside manner and is willing to spend time with him and doesn’t leave us with unanswered questions.

10. I’m thankful for coffee!  And coffee makers!  I’m thankful that my MIL has an office at the hospital that I can set my coffeemaker up in today and make my own coffee instead of drinking that awful hospital coffee or the equally awful stuff from the gas station next door!  I went the entire day yesterday with NO coffee (even though I made it in the morning).  Imagine that?  I’ll just have to drink two pots today to make up for it!

11. And I’m thankful for all of y’all.  If you’re reading this, chances are you made it here via someplace that I frequent or via email.  If y’all wouldn’t mind, you can send me a “get well” email at mrchip4@one-eleven.net and I can print them out for Chip so he knows exactly how many people are praying.  He hasn’t had much in the way of phone calls or visitors so I know he’s feeling a little lonely.  I think a whole bunch of get well emails would make him feel a lot better!

I’m off to shower and get ready for my day at the hospital.  I’ll check in sometime this afternoon once we’ve talked with the dr.  Again, thank you Jesus that Chip’s mom has an office at the hospital!

 

3 Responses to “Monday March 27, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Card sent! Hang in there. What a beautiful testimony to God’s grace that you can focus on what you are thankful for during this difficult time. I guess in times like these when we are experiencing loss that we take stock in what we actually have. Praying for you!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    It was so encouraging to read your list!   I sent a card too.   Thinking of you and Chip a lot, and praying too!  

  3. Anonymous Says:

    sent card to you and Chip.


Leave a Reply

