My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Monday April 3, 2006 April 3, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 11:57 am

Yesterday was a fairly normal Sunday for us.  Granted, Chip didn’t preach or lead worship, but it still involved going to church, eating lunch, naps, and going back to church.  Not too much out of the ordinary.

Until we got through worship in our service.  Someone’s cell phone rang.  Then the lights went out.  We got flashlights and decided to continue with service.  The cell phone rang again and the person took it back in they foyer to answer it.  I could hear everything the man was saying so I went back to shut doors and tell him to be a little more quiet please.  Now, I wasn’t annoyed.  This isn’t someone who has issues with his phone ringing during service so I knew something must be up.  But service was going to continue.

When I got to the back, he informed me that it was his son on the phone and that they called to warn us that there was a tornado in a nearby town and the news was saying it was headed right for Bethany.  A look out the window showed a nasty storm on the way – regardless of tornadoes.  While the sirens never sounded, when the hail started, we moved everyone to the basement and lit some candles before continuing the service (we figured that since the power was out it might affect the sirens).

By 8pm, we were done with service and decided to go up to Decatur to get some dinner.  Decatur is about 17 miles north of us.  As we drove north, we were encouraged to see lights on.  Even in the small town of Mt. Zion the lights were on but the three restaurants were PACKED.  We figured we’d go up and eat at Steak & Shake and then go to Walmart and pick up a few things.  As we pulled into the area where the restaurants and such are, there was NO POWER!!!

We turned around to head south, this time really noticing how full the restaurants in Mt. Zion were.  We decided we would head down to Mattoon (about 17 miles SOUTH of where we live) to eat and go to Walmart.  By the time we got back to Sullivan, we were all starving, so we stopped at the McDonald’s drive thru and decided to eat in the van.

We finally got down to Walmart, got what we needed and were home and had the kids in bed by 11:30pm.  However, this morning, Seth was up and ready for the day by 8am.  The power still wasn’t on and I was COLD!!!  I layered on the clothes and watched him play until the rest of the kids got up.  A few phone calls revealed that power was still out in most of the surrounding towns, but Granny had power down in Pana.  Chip’s mom works at the hospital and was told that Shelbyville wouldn’t have power back until 6pm, so we started making plans to leave for Pana.

Just as we were getting ready, the power came back on!  WOOHOO!!!  I’m not sure if the cheer I heard was just those in my own home or if it included people all over town.  I hadn’t realized how dependant on electricity we are.  Without electricity, we couldn’t cook anything, the heat wouldn’t work, all forms of media were shut off to us, etc…  I definitely know I couldn’t be Amish! LOL!

So, now I’m at home and the house is warming up.  I’ve got a cup of coffee and I’m drinking it until I’m full to my toes – which are STILL cold!  It was definitely an interesting night!

 

One Response to “Monday April 3, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Wow …. I hear ya, I couldn’t be Amish either!    Glad you got your power back!


Leave a Reply

