My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Wednesday April 19, 2006 April 19, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 1:40 pm

For the last few nights, after dinner our family has been going for walks.  Monday night, Kait was complaining about a pain she was having from walking too much.  I told her “Sometimes you just have to push through the pain.”  She looked at me funny, but obviously thought about it some as she walked.

Last night, when we went for our walk, it was Noah who was complaining about the pain in his side.  Kait turned around and quickly told him that sometimes you have to push through the pain.

When we got home, we paired up to play catch in the yard.  Tball and baseball season will quickly be upon us and we’re expecting calls any day with information about practices and such.  Kait is starting to do pretty good and we were working on her reaching out to catch the ball.  I thought she has mastered it pretty good, so we started to pick up the pace just a little bit.  I’d throw her the ball and she’d throw it back to me and I’d throw it back to her.  All was well.  Until I threw the ball, she missed the catch and it hit her right in the nose!

Funny thing, she bounced back faster than I did.  She screamed and cried for a few minutes.  But then she picked herself up and got back on the horse.  I was afraid of hitting her again, so she got her dad to play catch with her.  She just looked at me and said, “Sometime you just have to push through the pain.”  Apparently it’s going to be her new catch phrase.

But she’s right.  Life is hard.  Things are going to happen that we don’t want to.  We’re going to get hurt in life.  Jesus promised in the gospels that “in this world you will have trouble.”  He also told us to take heart because He has overcome the world.  Sometimes we tend to get stuck in the valleys though.  Something goes wrong and we just want to sit down and pout and whine and complain about how it’s not fair.  Today, I’m wondering if maybe we wouldn’t get out of those valleys a little faster if we didn’t just decide to “push through the pain.”

 

2 Responses to “Wednesday April 19, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I think that is such a neat lesson to learn so young.  I feel like I wasn’t taught stuff like that, and when things got really hard in my early 30s I got pretty angry because life wasn’t “perfect”, and for some reason I assumed it would be.   Its cool to hear how she’s applying that lesson!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Wow what a great lesson she learn that fast.  I will take this and apply when the pain is rough, and just push through it.  Great !


Leave a Reply

