My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Thursday April 20, 2006 April 20, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 5:14 pm

Kait is outside right now teaching herself how to ride her bike.  I was attempting to teach her, but she said I was making her nervous and told me to go sit on the porch.  It’s slow going, but she’s getting it.  She told me, “Sometimes it just takes a little longer to get what you want if you do it yourself.”

Interesting concept.  With Elijah, it took all of 5 minutes to teach  him to ride his bike.  He was ready, just like Kait, but he was willing to listen to my instruction, obedient to do what I told him, and quick to learn.  He didn’t want to do it himself.  He knew it would be easier if someone with experience taught him how to do it.

So, today I learned something while attempting to teach my daughter to ride a bike.  I’m learning a lot from her this week.  Maybe if instead of trying to do things on my own and things happening at a much slower pace, maybe if I sat and listened to instruction then obeyed those instructions things would happen a lot quicker.  We hear a lot about how God’s timing isn’t always our timing – especially when it seems like God is taking forever to answer us.  Maybe if instead of begging God to answer or trying to figure things out for ourselves, if we were to stop and listen to what He’s telling us we’d be able to learn a whole lot quicker.

 

One Response to “Thursday April 20, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    All I can say is…. AWESOME!  That really spoke to me today.


Leave a Reply

