My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Friday April 28, 2006 April 28, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 8:12 pm

Wow!  Have I really not blogged since Monday?  It’s just been an incredibly long week in the Sanders’ household. It all came together today as we kicked off the annual church rummage sale.  Not that I had a lot to do with setting it up, but it’s been the focus of most of our week.  If you’re close enough, the town of Bethany is having it’s annual town rummage sale this week.  Abundant Life Assembly is holding a rummage sale in the church basement (corner of Church & Robinson) and if you mention my blog, we’ll give you a discount.  We’ll be open tomorrow from 8am – 2pm.

Enough shameless promotion though.  Where was I?  Oh yes, our week…

Tuesday, we had a fabulous day at the St. Louis Zoo.  It’s rated one of the top zoos in America and the best part is it’s FREE!!!  It was a slightly rainy day, so we were able to save money and park on the street.  And since it was cooler (in the mid-50’s), we were really able to enjoy ourselves.  Normally we go in August when it’s so hot you don’t want to do anything other than visit the Penguin/Puffin Coast.  Apparently the animals enjoy the cooler weather as well because we were able to see just about every animal they have.  The hippos put on quite a show for us with their wrestling and snorting water at one another.  The anteaters and zebras put on a show of an entirely different sort though – my kids thought it was fun to watch them “wrestle” and “hug”.  Lord have mercy!  We just kept things moving. LOL!

After the zoo, we went downtown to Old Spaghetti Factory.  I’ve never seen my kids eat so well as they did that night.  Even Noah almost cleaned his plate – something that is very rare.  We got to go down and see Chip’s brothers new pavillion (he manages a Flying J that is just about to open) and house.  It adds a very different dynamic to Chip’s family having them so close since they recently relocated from the Seattle area.

Wednesday and Thursday were pretty much a blur.  It was mostly helping people carry in stuff for the rummage sale, running errands and cleaning up the house some (not that you can tell it now).

This morning I was up and out of the house by 7:30.  That almost *never* happens!  But our rummage sale started this morning and I was on deck.  This afternoon, we went up to Decatur to pick up some stuff for Elijah’s sleepover tonight.  I told my husband to get gas before we left town even though we knew it was five cents cheaper in Decatur.  It would have saved us a trip if he’d listened to me (which usually isn’t the wisest idea – when he listens we tend to get lost – or “adventure” as I like to call it).  Anyhoo, we got to the gas station on empty and I realized that I’d left the checkbook at home, with the debit card in it.  OOPS!!!  Thankfully I had enough cash to get us some gas so we could come home.

So, home we came, picked up a friend who was staying the night and then headed back to Decatur.  We got Elijah some new cleats for his birthday while at Target.  The boy has gone from a 2 to a 4 in the last year!!!  A quick stop at Walmart/Papa Murphy’s for snacks and pizza and then home to watch movies, play video games and eat pizza and other junk that tends to be reserved for sleepovers.

Tomorrow will be another day of rummaging, followed by finishing up things for Sunday services.  I’m going to try something new for the first time on Sunday, but not going to say anything other than “PRAY FOR ME!”  And no, I’m not preaching – although I think my husband might think that could happen some day in the future.  I’ll fill y’all in on Sunday or Monday.  Hope to see some of you tomorrow!

 

2 Responses to “Friday April 28, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    awww I’m so jealous- I LOVE THE ST. LOUIS ZOO!  Penguins and Hippos are my favorites there now!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    love the zoo there…because it is free I sometimes take my kids there just to ride the train (not free, but don’t mind paying since the rest is)…anyway, glad you had fun..


Leave a Reply

