My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Friday May 5, 2006 May 5, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 1:59 pm

Tball and baseball practices started this week.  I love seeing my kids out there on the field practicing with their friends.  I sad there proud last night as the other parents commented on how fast Kaitlyn can run.  “Wow!  Look at her go!” “That girl can move!”  As her coach asked questions about the bases and positions and such, I watched as she answered each and every question right.  I asked her about it later and she said, “Well, Momma, you told me that if I pay attention and listen, I’ll know the answers to the questions.”  WOW!!!  Now if I could just get her to pay that close of attention when her dad and I are talking.

Elijah’s first practice was on Tuesday night.  We didn’t stay for the whole thing because one they get to that age, the practices jump from 1 hour to 2.  It’s just a long time to sit and watch a practice.  Especially the first one of the season when they are all still trying to figure things out still.  But when I went back to pick him up at the end of practice, I was told by 2 different people how well he did despite it being a first practice.  He needs to work on some things, but they are only 9 & 10 year olds, so they all do.  He’s hitting well and his catching is definitely improving.  It’s going to be a fun season.

I know a lot of you out there reading have little ones.  And I know you’re looking forward (or maybe your husbands more so) to when your kids will be able to play sports.  It’s a lot of fun, but I’m going to warn you.  It costs A LOT of money!  Registration fees weren’t too bad – only $50 for the both of them.  It costs less to sign them both up for baseball than it does for one of them to play soccer (which we’ll have THREE playing this year).  But it’s the extras – the pants and shoes and socks and such…  Not to mention the fact that they grow from one season to the next so what worked last year, might not work this year.  Which we found true for most of Elijah’s stuff – his bat, glove and cleats were all the wrong size this year.  So, don’t say you haven’t been warned.  I assure you though, it’s worth EVERY penny!!!

 

2 Responses to “Friday May 5, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I’ll second the need to take out a 2nd mortgage to keep multiple children in sports! Ka-ching!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Hurray for Kaitlyn & Elijah! Yes, these sports can cost us parents an arm & a leg, but I have a niece & a nephew that are going to college on sports scholarships after years of my bil & sil paying out the big bucks, not to mention all the time watching, driving, sometimes dragging them to practice—WHOOOOEEE! It really paid off for all of them. Neither want to play professionally, but it got them into a college where they can study for what they want to do. Praise God!!


Leave a Reply

