My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Thursday May 18, 2006 May 18, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 4:20 pm

We had a fabulous time at our District Council.  Suz, make sure y’all get the CD’s of the main sessions with Mark Batterson & Randy Valimont.  Worth every cent!  It’ll hit you where you live!

On Tuesday night, Randy Valimont spoke on the refiners fire.  He basically confirmed for Chip and I what we’ve been learning and going through the last 5 months.  He said that sometimes instead of asking God to pull us out of the fire, we need to ask Him to pull us through.  Because if He pulls you out, eventually you’re going to have to go back in.  Like I said, it just confirmed what we already knew, but sometimes it’s good to get a reaffirming word like that.

As the altar call was going on, God spoke to my heart about something completely unrelated.  If y’all go down and reread the post below this one about my ongoing battle, you’ll know that I’ve been struggling mightily with this whole situation with Chip’s health and having to take every thought captive.

As the Lord began to speak, I felt a lot like Peter must have when Jesus questioned him.  Here’s what our conversation looked like:

“Do you trust Me?”  Lord, I trust You.
“Do you trust Me?”  Yes Lord, I trust You.
“Rebekah, do you trust Me?” *gulp*  Lord, I really want to.

And it was at that point, that my prideful spirit broke.  It was at that point that the stark realization came crashing down on me that God is healing my husband, not me.  It’s not that I was pretending to trust God on the outside.  I was even lying to myself in my heart of hearts and telling myself that I trusted God.  I was saying one thing, but in the secret places of my heart, I was fooling everyone but God.  And it was at that point, the point of repentance (and I had a few of those this week), that God lifted the burden I’d been carrying around of fretting about my husband and I truly trusted God.

And you know what?  I really do.  If you were to ask me today if I trust God to take care of this situation with my Chip (because Chip’s not really mine anyway, he belongs to God), I could answer yes.  And come what may, God will work it all out for His glory and I can trust in that because God’s promises are true and His love never fails.

As for an update on his healthy, yesterday he didn’t need his inhaler at all.  PRAISE THE LORD!!!  Council was a million questions from at least 100 people about Chip’s health.  Having been in three different sections, we know a lot of people in the district I guess.  We had to leave last night because Chip had a CT scan this morning.  We’ll find out the results next week and y’all will be among the first to know.

 

2 Responses to “Thursday May 18, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    ryc: Starbucks would be a lovely way to pass the time! Instead I am watching old movies, an episode of Remington Steele and drinking lots of white tea (iced)

    Sounds like you had a great time at council!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Great post, Rebekah!  I love it that you are so truthful and honest.

    Shen


Leave a Reply

