My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Monday May 29, 2006 May 29, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 12:39 pm

While it started a bit early for me, this Memorial Day already holds special memories for me to remember for years to come.  I was up with kids who were in a good mood.  I got to hear my husband preach a powerful message at the Memorial Service sponsored by our local veterans.  I’ve enjoyed watching my children play freely in the yard and swim in their pool with their friends.  In a few moments, I’ll make up a picnic lunch that we’ll eat on the living room floor.  I’ll call my Gram this afternoon and she’ll share stories of how my grandfather marched across Europe as part of the infantry in WWII.  She’ll tell me what it was like to be on this side of the world and wait for news as he husband fought for freedom for those who weren’t born into it like he was.  Later this afternoon, we’ll enjoy the company of friends and then eat together for dinner.  Yes, it is a good day for memory making, indeed.

And most importantly, I’m remembering and praying for those who are abroad with the US armed forces.  Those who continue to fight for freedom for those who aren’t lucky enough to already have it.  I think so often we forget the price that our freedom cost.  People DIED that I can walk my streets safely, shop in stores that compete for the best price, etc…  I’ll walk through the cemetary later and look at the graves of those who have gone on before – some in war, some in peace.  I’ll think of my Daddy and the man that he was. I’ll pause to reflect and remember.

 

One Response to “Monday May 29, 2006”


Leave a Reply

