My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Tuesday May 30, 2006 May 30, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 1:43 pm

Last week was a long week.  It seemed like we were running a million miles an hour all week.  We (well, me) weren’t ready for our Sunday morning service until 11pm on Saturday night.  We got a new projector for the church and I was busy getting announcements and such put onto powerpoint and then getting it all hooked up late into Saturday night.  We’d taken some time out on Saturday to spend with Chip’s family since his brother was up with his family for the weekend.  We had a nice visit.

Sunday morning, we were 5 minutes into Sunday school when someone pulled the plug.  The power went out at the church.  Mind you, it was just at the church.  The men worked to solve the problem but it ended up being something we had to call the city out to fix – on a Sunday on Memorial Day weekend.  But despite the fact that we had service in the dark with no air conditioning on a 90 degree day, it was a great service.  Chip preached from his heart and I actually think the power being out added to the service.  By noon the power was restored.  Something happened and the coupling that plugs our church into the main power supply from the powerline came unplugged.  No real explanation, but an easy fix and we’ll be glad to have the power back next Sunday.

That afternoon, Elijah had ball practice and I napped (it was Sunday after all) while he was gone.  When he got home, we ran up to Decatur.  We stopped at Target to get Starbucks and a few other things we needed and then at Walmart for even more things we needed.  No hurry, just enjoying our time together.  That night, we got home and Chip changed the brake pads on the van.  It didn’t take him very long either.  He used to think he couldn’t do things like that, but circumstances have forced him to learn along the way and now he’s even finding he enjoys it.  I think he really enjoys knowing how much it impresses me and the way I look at him when he comes in all greasy and proud of himself.  Man, he looks good as a grease monkey!

Monday morning, Chip preached at the Memorial Day service.  Two weeks ago, the pastor who was supposed to speak told Chip he thought that God had a word for Chip to give.  Chip said he didn’t think so and after giving it some thought said he didn’t want to do it because he really didn’t feel like he had anything special to say.  That all changed on Thursday.  We were on our way home from Walmart and were listening to the radio.  Apparently the person on the radio said something that sparked something in my husbands soul.  Those of you who are pastors wives probably know what I’m talking about.  Suddenly, he got really quiet and got this look on his face and I could tell that the gears were turning in his head.  2 minutes later he said, “I have to call Kevin.” (the pastor mentioned above) and I know knew that he’d be speaking at the memorial service.  He did a great job and people were really impressed – although if you read his blog, he says he didn’t feel like he really connected with the “audience.”  Seems it’s the times that he feels that way that others usually think he’s done his best.

We pretty much just hung out for the rest of the day on Monday.  Chip had to go visit his uncle in the hospital and when he got home I took a nap.  We watched the kids swim for most of the day.  Seth *LOVES* the little pool we got for him.  I’m sure we’ll spend a lot of time in it this summer (or he would – it only comes up to my ankles!).  We had friends over for dinner last night and that was great.  Chip grilled a brisket, I made potato salad, and we all ate more than we probably should have.  We just seem to click with this family and before we knew it, half the kids had fallen asleep on our laps or the couches and it was 11pm!

We all pretended that today was Monday morning and slept in later than normal.  It’s been a while since I’ve really slept in, but I didn’t get up until 10:30 this morning!  Thank you, Benedryl!  I’m still dragging a bit, but it’s nothing that a trip to Starbucks wouldn’t cure (we have to go up to the hospital and I have just enough on my gift card for one more visit).  Today, we’re back to the daily grind and I feel ready for just about anything.  I’m really looking forward to this week.  It’s great to be able to decompress once in a while. *sigh*

 

2 Responses to “Tuesday May 30, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Oh my we would have all melted away at our church if we lost power. Our windows do not open. I would have been a little melted music pastor by the time I was finished leading worship (lol) My husband and I had a wonderful weekend also. I know what you mean about decompressing. It is great to do that once in a while!!!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    We got Isaiah a little plastic pool too, that he just loooooves!  It is so fun to watch him in it!!  Wow, great minds must think alike!  I keep wishing we lived closer so our little guys could play together.  Wouldn’t that be a hoot?  đŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

