My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Monday June 26, 2006 June 26, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 10:40 am

Tonight is the last ball game of the regular season for Elijah.  While I’m not sure that I can take much more this season, it’s bittersweet to see it drawing to a close.  I’ve enjoyed the time spent with friends (both for Elijah and for the rest of us).  I’ve enjoyed watching when the boys get out there and really do their best and try hard.  I think we were the only team cheering when their kids struck – happy because they were simply swinging the bat!  And even happier when some of them were actually hitting the ball!  I’ve enjoyed watching the girls come and giggle at the boys on the field.

That right – GIRLS!!! 9 and 10 year old girls!  When did that happen?  Last night, Elijah the Stud had THREE girls over to play with him.  Not necessarily because they wanted to play with one another, but because two of the three are interested in Elijah.  WHAT is that all about?  Thankfully, while he likes girls and has always been a bit of a “ladies man”, he’s just not all that interested in doing much about it.  Thankfully at this age it just means they are hanging out together.  I’m dreading the teen years.

On Wednesday, we’ll take Elijah to camp for the first time.  He did fine at the PK retreat last fall, but for some reason I’m a bit nervous about him going to camp for three days.  I’m sure it’s more because it means he’s really growing up.  He’s super excited to go and that excitement is contagious.

Speaking of Elijah growing up, it’s been an adjustment this summer.  On Saturday, we had our town celebration.  Think 4th of July a little early.  We went out there for dinner and while it was difficult, I let Elijah go and run the park with his friends.  Ah, the advantages of living in a small town.  I saw him come and go from time to time, but didn’t really see him again until AFTER the fireworks.  Oh, he thought he was so cool playing with his friends.  This summer he’s also been given a bit more freedom in where he can go and what he can do.  A few times, we’ve let him ride his bike to a friends house “across” town (it’s only like 10 blocks).  It’s been a little hard of me setting him free like that, but I know it’s time.

 

Leave a Reply

