My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Tuesday August 15, 2006 August 15, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 9:39 pm

Since I’m currently unable to talk much, my mind has been racing non-stop with a million different things.  Seems my brain flits from topic to topic faster than a bee in a flower bed of daisies.

I got to thinking about gossip today.  We all know it’s one of the “sins” of the church that seems to get swept under the rug.  Because if we’re all honest, we’re all nosy by nature.  I admit it, I am.  Ask my husband, he can tell you.  The first thing I ask him after he gets off the phone is, “Who was that? What did they want?”  Not necessarily because I want to know anything important, but because I’m nosy by nature.

But today, I got to thinking about gossip.  I try NOT to spread gossip.  I try to put an end to it if I can.  But I had to stop myself today and ask if maybe I wasn’t guilty of gossip if I was allowing people to share their gossip with me?  I mean, really, if someone is telling me something about someone else that they probably shouldn’t really be sharing in the first place, aren’t I just as guilty as the gossip-per by not putting my hand up and saying, “ENOUGH! Unless you’ve talked to this person about it already, I don’t want to hear it.”

Just like it takes two people for a conversation, it takes two people to gossip.  If a gossip doesnn’t have anyone to spread their news to, they aren’t going to be an effictive gossip.  And if I’m giving them a platform but lending my ear to their gossip, I’m at the very least guilty of causing a brother or sister in Christ to stumble.

I told y’all my brain is working overtime.

 

One Response to “Tuesday August 15, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I agree COMPLETELY with you about gossip.  I hate gossip so much, especially when it is masked by trying to say “pray for this…” or “we just are concerned with this…”  Sometimes people just need to keep their mouths shut and not try to pretend spreading something about something is them being concerned for them.


Leave a Reply

