My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Wednesday September 20, 2006 September 20, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 11:32 am

For those who are already fans of NGM’s WildAfrica cam, the title needs no further explanation.  The forums are also down, so there is no explanation to be found.  My theorizing has led me to believe that it has something to do with the new cam they are setting up in Australia (which I’m equally excited about).  I also have it on good authority they will be launching a Polar Bear cam this fall as well.  I may never sleep again!

Anyway, for those hopeless “Pondies” out there who are distraught over the loss of the WildAfrica Cam at Pete’s Pond, I thought I’d share a few other places on line you can find webcams –

Africam.com – they have several still cameras, but also a live feed.  Click on the link in the menu bar on the left that says “Nkorho Pan” and it will take you to a a watering hole in South Africa.  Not as big as PP, but it definitely has animals and the zoom capabilities are much better than the NGM cameras.  This morning, I’ve seen some kind of big bird (an eagle of some sort maybe?) and a jackal.  Yesterday they got in supertight on a frog and a hare at night.  They say they have more live stream cams coming.

National Zoo Webcams – the National Zoo in DC has a TON of webcams.  Pandas, amazon river, elephants, gorillas, giraffe, birds, octopus, tigers, etc…  There are a ton to choose from and although they don’t have the panning ability of the africa cams, there are so many to choose from, you can always see an animal or two or more.

NewProgress Sullivan, IL – these are webcams that are set up in the town closest to ours.  It’s the county seat of Moultrie County, IL.  I don’t spend a lot of time there, but figure if someone is interested enough in human behavior, they might get a kick out of it.  I know some people that would be/will be really, really freaked out by the fact that their face could be put online and they wouldn’t know it.  They aren’t hiding from the law or anything, but they are older and expect their privacy to be respected.  I had no idea about these cams until I stumbled across them on the website and I’m absolutely certain that they people who wouldn’t want their picture online don’t know anything about these cameras.

Zirafy – Live webcam of giraffe’s at the Prague zoo.  My kids really loved this one.  Something to do with their Aunt Carina convincing them there is no better animal.

 

2 Responses to “Wednesday September 20, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Aha!  So that explains why Pete’s Pond keeps crashing my web browser.  Are they working on getting it back up and running?  I much prefer wild animal cams over zoo cams and we are anxiously awaiting the return of the penguins at the end of October!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    I got to see an elephant drinking this a.m……a monkey…..and a small herd of elephants snacking on vegetation!  How cool is that?! 

    I checked out the web cams in your neighboring city.  When you pass through that intersection be sure to wave in case we’re “watching”!  🙂  Blessings…..thanks for sharing Africam with us!  Q.’


Leave a Reply

