My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Tuesday October 17, 2006 October 17, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 12:23 pm

Some people equate living a good life with things like big vacations, big homes, fancy cars.  I even heard lately that the number of children you have is starting to become a status symbol in some East Coast cities – sort of an “I can afford this” type of thing.

For me, the finer things in life are 6 hour car trips with my kids to see family, stopping along the way to appreciate nature, quiet Sunday afternoons great food, naps, football and board games, walking around window shopping, good coffee after a cold night in the corn maze…  Those are the things that make life worth living.  Those are the things that capture my heart and remind me that all is right with my world.  Those are the finer things in my life…

We had a good time in Nashville.  Friday we had the day to ourselves, so we explored Nashville.  We ended up at Stones River National Battlefield and Cemetary.  It’s the third oldest established cemetary in the US – right after Arlington and Gettysburg.  The kids had a great time and even learned a little bit.  Kait said, “I’m sad that all those people didn’t want to be part of America and had to die over something stupid.”  Out of the mouth of babes…

Saturday, we went to Historic Franklin and did some windown shopping.  We ate at a Restaurant called Puckett’s Grocery.  When we got inside, we realized they were doing a live broadcast on some AM station with some local talent.  It was pretty cool to watch the radio show while we ate our lunch.  The food was great, the atomosphere was great and we had a good time.  After we left Franklin, we went to a place called The Factory and did some more window shopping.  Since we still had daylight, we ended up going to Radnor Lake and taking a hike.  I think this was the highlight of Kait’s trip since she got to see so many turtles warming in the sun.

Unfortunately about this time, I started to get a migraine.  I didn’t let on to anyone but Chip.  We’d gone into some crazy cat store in Historic Franklin and whatever that crazy cat perfume was gave me a headache that got out of control.  However, I was going to soldier through.  We went and got a snack at Panera and then back to Carina & Chris’ house for a nap and dinner (tacos).  It was an early night since Chip’s sister ended up with a migraine as well.  I think we were all in bed by 10pm.

Sunday began a new day.  We went to church with his sister at NewSong Christian Fellowship and then out for dinner at Famous Daves BBQ.  Back to her house where Seth and I napped, Chip watched football and Carina and the kids played board games.  We had a great quiet Sunday.  We talked, we laughed.  We had yummy pork chops for dinner that Chris cooked, followed by watching The Amazing Race.  Once that was done, we put the kids to bed and then played Scattergories for a bit before heading off to bed.  We said our goodbyes then since they both had to be out the door for work before 6:30am and the only way I can get out of bed that early is if the house is on fire and directly affecting my part of the house!

Yesterday (monday), we stopped for Krispy Kreme for breakfast before heading home.  We hit the road and got home by 5pm.  We drove the scenic route through part of Shawnee Nat’l Forest in southern Illinois.  It was a rainy yucky day, but we still had a pretty good time on the way home.  Unfortunately, we got home to find that something was wrong with our furnace, so we’re working on getting that fixed today and getting laundry done and packed up so we can do it all again tomorrow – only heading to Wisconsin this time.

I’ll have pictures when we get home from our trip!

 

3 Responses to “Tuesday October 17, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    You are so blessed , not only that you have the finer things, but that you appreciate them so much!!  Sounds like you guys had a great time! Something your kids will always treasure.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    I totally agree–you have so much more than the celebs could ever “buy.” You are blessed by God!  Ahhh, now I’m craving a Krispy Kreme chocolate iced creme filled… and a hot coffee… and a good game of Scattergories…

  3. Anonymous Says:

    The # of children as a status symbol, ick!  I agree.  Happiness is not a huge house and an expensive car.  It’s a good man, healthy children and a peaceful life living God’s intentions, of course donuts help. 😉


Leave a Reply

