My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Sunday November 26, 2006 November 26, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 11:11 pm
I love the Christmas season.  Everything about it.  I’m one of those people who ENJOYS going to the mall the day before Christmas.  I enjoy going and looking at the same decorations over and over and over again.  I love giving gifts and I love getting them!  I guess that I’m just good at finding a balance between the stuff and Christ in the Christmas season.  I’ve heard so many Christians who are beginning to rant about all the stuff taking the true meaning out of Christmas.  But the truth is that the stuff and presents and trees only take the true meaning out of Christmas if you let it.  It’s a whole parallel of How The Grinch Stole Christmas.  You can take away my gifts and tree and even the Who-feast, and sure I might be a little sad because of it, but it’s not going to stop Christmas from coming.  Christmas is about so much more. It’s about Christ.  It’s about being able to celebrate the JOY of Christmas with family.  It’s about seeing the smiles on my children’s faces as I explain that I give them gifts, but God has given them the ultimate gift in Christ.  I think way too many people are trying to make this an either/or situation when really it can be a both/and situation.
 
(I realize that my thoughts are a little jumbled and sparse, but I have more thoughts on this.  But right now, I’m going to take some time in the hustle and bustle of the Christmas season to go snuggle with my husband.  Not that I really need a reason, but I’ll take any excuse I can get!)
 

2 Responses to “Sunday November 26, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    If only I was in that much control!!   I love Christmas too, but I don’t like the extended family dramatics and expectations on our time and pocket book.   I love decorating my house, I love experiencing Christmas with my children and husband, but the unpleasantness with my MIL each year definitely throws a damper on things, and one I’m not in control of.   My MIL controls so much about Christmas that its hard to be balanced and keep it Christ centered.   I like the preparation expectation stage better then the actual day!   Which is cool, I guess, it’s actually what advent is about, expectation.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    What a great post!!  You said it, girlfriend!!  I agree with you about the material stuff only taking over if we LET it.  Balance rules!  Yay Jesus AND yay gifts and pretty lights and 28 days of Christmas music on the radio!


Leave a Reply

