My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Monday December 4, 2006 December 4, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 10:24 am

Saturday morning we were out of the house and on the road early.  In an unexpected turn of events, we ended up having to take the kids with us to Chicago for Abby’s wedding.  Thankfully, friends of ours let us borrow their car DVD system (with two screens!) for our trip.  WOW!  I love those things!  Especially when I expect my kids to spend 5 hours in the car and then after a couple hours jump back in the car and do it all over again!  Anyway, I’m glad my kids can do things like that without us wanting to kill them.  They were REALLY good considering we ended up having to completely skip lunch in order to make it on time.  They were really good considering we had to use blankets and such and I had to teach them how to change driving down the road in the car.  They were really good all around!!!

The wedding was beautiful!  Being true to who she is, Abby’s wedding had a South African theme.  She’s just home from two years as a missionary associate where she ran a baby shelter for orphans.  The clothes were beautifully made traditional SA garments.  And she was absolutely BEAUTIFUL!

To know Abby is to love her.  She has such a loving and giving heart.  And she’ll always have a very special place in my own heart.  She was very instrumental in Chip and I starting to date.  She was the one to get over myself and “just say yes already” when I was worried that dating would ruin our friendship.  She was sitting on my bed waiting to see my ring the night Chip proposed.  She stood up with in my own wedding (and actually BEAT the number of attendants by 1, not an easy thing to do since I had 6!).  She was one of the first people to the hospital when Elijah was born.

So, unless something MAJOR would have happened – and I’m not talking snowstorm here – we were going to be at that wedding.  And we are sooo glad that we were.  She was glowing.  I could not be happier for her and I could not be happier that she and her new husband will live only an hour from us!  That’s a whole lot closer than South Africa!

Now, onto colder things – WINTER…

It’s FREAKING *COLD* outside!  Right now it’s a whopping 15 degrees outside!  I’m freezing and we have heat in our house.  I can’t imagine what the 40,000 people in Decatur still without power must be going through!  YIKES!

 

One Response to “Monday December 4, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I love winter! I love the cold! And even more, I love that our power is back on and we can be warm while it is cold outside!


Leave a Reply

